Papal Appointment of H.E. Bishop Stephen LEE Bun-sang as new Bishop of Macau

Our Diocese has received the following announcement from the Holy See:

 

The Bishop of Macau, H.E. Bishop José Lai Hung-seng, for health reasons and for medical treatments, has decided to present his resignation from office of Bishop of Macau to the Holy Father.

 

Acceding to this legitimate request of Bishop Lai, Pope Francis has today (16 January 2016) accepted his resignation and at the same time has appointed H.E. Bishop Stephen Lee Bun-sang, who is at present Auxiliary Bishop of Hong Kong, as the new Bishop of Macau.

 

Bishop Stephen Lee Bun-sang will take possession of the Diocese of Macau on Saturday, 23 January 2016, at 3 p.m. with the Eucharistic celebration that will take place at the Cathedral to mark the 440th Anniversary of establishment of the Diocese of Macau.

 

The solemn event of 23 January will also be also a happy occasion to welcome Bishop Stephen Lee and to thank sincerely Bishop José Lai for his generous episcopal ministry which he started on 23 January 2001 as Coadjutor Bishop and which he continued from 30 June 2003 as Diocesan Bishop of the same Diocese. Bishop Lai will remain in contact with the Diocese of Macau as Bishop Emeritus, after spending a period of time in prayer and taking a rest.

 

The above provisions are an expression of the pastoral solicitude and the love of Pope Francis and of the Holy See for the Church in China and, in a special way, for the Diocese of Macau which has for more than four centuries been a bridge for cultural exchange between the Orient and the West, and for the spreading of the Catholic faith.

 

While our Diocese will miss Bishop Lee, we are very happy that the Diocese of Macau will have him as the new Bishop. In the future, the two Dioceses will have more contacts and exchanges. We would like to take this opportunity to express our support for Bishop Lee’s new pastoral task, and we offer him our prayers and blessings. We are confident that the Diocese of Macau under his leadership, will bear abundant fruits in the years to come.

 

PDF FILE

Leave a Reply

教宗任命李斌生主教为澳门主教

教廷公布,澳门黎鸿升主教因健康理由及医疗需要,决定辞去澳门主教职务,并向教宗呈辞。

 

教宗方济各认为黎主教的意愿恰当,于今日(2016年1月16日)恩准他辞职的请求,同时任命香港教区辅理主教李斌生主教接任澳门教区主教。

 

李主教将于2016年1月23日(星期六)下午3时,在澳门主教座堂庆祝澳门教区成立440周年的弥撒中,正式就职澳门教区主教。

 

在1月23日澳门所举行的隆重庆祝,除为热烈欢迎澳门s的新任主教外,亦为衷心感谢黎鸿升主教的慷慨牧职服务。黎主教自2001年1月23日成为澳门教区的助理主教,随后于2003年6月30日成为该教区的正权主教。黎主教将在休息与静修后,以荣休主教身份继续与澳门教区保持联系。

 

上述安排,显示教宗方济各和宗座对中国教会—尤其对澳门教区—的关怀和爱护。澳门教区四个多世纪以来,一直扮演着东西方文化交流与传播天主教信仰的桥梁。

 

敝教区虽然对李主教依依不舍,但澳门教区深庆得人,敝教区同感欣慰,港澳两地教会将有更多联系和交流。我们谨此表达对李主教的支持,并为他的新牧职祈祷及祝福。我们深信,澳门教区在李主教的领导下,会结出更丰硕的成果。

 
PDF 檔案

Leave a Reply