World Day of Prayer for Vocations

Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

As we celebrate the World Day of Prayer of Vocations, it is good for all of us to reflect more deeply on the mystery of life, the mystery of our own particular life. Life is a gift from God, freely given to us. What is the purpose of this life? God created us out of love and loves and cares for us each and every day. We are called to return love for love by loving God and by loving each other.

There are many ways in which we can love each other, instanced in the many different roles one can play in the family, in society and in the church. Within the family there are the different vocations of father, mother, child, brother, sister. In society we serve in one of a wide range of professions or work situations. In the church we serve as a priest, Sisters, Brother, deacon, single lay person, married lay person. As Christians, whether in the family, in society or in the church, all of us may, and indeed must, aspire to serve in love, responding to God’s love for us.

As we pray for vocations to the priesthood and religious life, we are praying that God may enlighten the hearts of many of our Catholic faithful to listen to the call to serve in love in the church.

In his message for the 39th World Day of Prayer for Vocations, “The Vocation to Holiness”, Pope John Paul II reminds us that any vocation to serve in love is, of itself, a call to holiness, for the task of the church is the sanctification of all, especially of those who seek to follow Christ within the church itself: “The main task of the church is to lead Christians along the path of holiness, so that, illuminated by the intelligence of faith, they may learn to know and contemplate Christ’s face and to rediscover in Him their own identity and the mission that the Lord entrusts to each of them”.

As we reflect on the mystery of our life, we are called to discern our vocation, the mission which the Lord desires to entrust to each one of us in a unique way. This is where the importance of prayer and reflection comes in. Prayer leads to holiness and wisdom. Holiness comes through an intimate union with God. Holiness is a desire to imitate Jesus who was intimately united with the Father. His loving experience with the Father was reflected in his actions of love for people, especially for the poor, the sick, the broken-hearted, the troubled.

Prayer draws us closer to God and enhances our own self-knowledge. It is this union with God and in this self-knowledge that we discover that God’s will for us is the particular way in which God’s love attracts us to service in love. In this union with God we find the strength and courage to respond to God’s invitation. Then we discover that the best life one can lead is a life in communion and cooperation with God. A vocation is an invitation, for God has given us the gift of freedom and in this freedom we can joyfully respond in choosing a life in communion with God. This communion helps us to attain holiness of life. In the book of Leviticus God reminds us: “Be holy, because I, the Lord your God, am Holy” (Lev. 19:2)

The pope invites us to reflect on all the vocations in the church as a radiant reflection of the mystery of the Holy Trinity. In the church, one community united in love and in the mission of Jesus, we praise the name of the Father, we follow Jesus our saviour and the Holy Spirit leads us in our different vocations. We discover our own special vocation by listening to God’s word in prayer and by participating in the sacraments.

Jesus himself entrusted to us the responsibility of spreading the word of God to all people: “Go, then, to all peoples everywhere and make them my disciples: baptise them in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit and teach them to obey everything which I have commanded you. And I will be with you always, to the end of the age” (Mt. 28:19-20). We may put these words into practice by bringing our children to deeper faith in God. We may also put them into practice by encouraging and praying for more vocations to the priesthood and the religious life. The pope also urges this: “It is to these vocations that I invite everyone to pay particular attention today, by intensifying their prayers for them”. Let us then, in union with the Holy Father and the church throughout the world, pray for more vocations to the priesthood and the religious life, so that more and more young people may respond to God’s invitation. May God bless us with many priests and religious who will imitate Jesus in their life. May God help them to lead a holy, simple, obedient and chaste life. May the Lord bless you and your family.

+ John Baptist Cardinal Wu
The Bishop of Hong Kong
Solemnity of the Annunciation 2002

[Published in Sunday Examiner, 21 April 2002]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

世界聖召祈禱日


主內親愛的兄弟姊妹:

欣逢世界祈禱日,為聖召祈禱,我們該對生命的奧秘,及人生的意義,作更深入的反省。生命是天主白白的恩賜。天主愛我們,造我們,每人每日,愛護照顧,邀請我們,以愛還愛,愛主愛人。

 

彼此相愛,方式不一,在家庭、社會和教會扮演不同的角色。在家庭中,父母子女和兄弟姊妹,各有不同的召叫。在社會中,廣泛的專業和不同的工作,互相合作。在教會中,神職人員、修女、修士、終身執事、在俗人員,彼此服務。我們基督徒,無論在家庭、社會或教會中,都應回應天主,以愛還愛,彼此服務。

我們為司鐸職和修道人的聖召祈禱,祈求天主光照教友的心靈,聆聽天主愛的召叫,在教會中,彼此服務。

教宗若望保祿二世,在第三十九屆世界祈禱日,為聖召祈禱,在其「成聖的召叫」牧函中指出,任何為愛而服務的聖召,本身就是成聖的聖召,因為教會的工作,就是聖化眾人,特別是那些尋求在教會內,追隨基督的人,教宗提醒我們說:「教會的主要工作,就是領導基督徒,走上成聖之道,在信仰光照下,認識默觀基督的聖容,重新確認自己的身份,和主賦予每人的使命。」

反省生命的奧秘,有助我們辨別自己的聖召,覺悟上主獨特的方式,交託我們的使命。祈禱默想,至為重要,導人成聖,獲得智慧,效法耶穌,天人合一,體驗愛心,化為行動,照顧貧困病者,撫慰破碎心靈。

祈禱使人親近天主,增強自我認識,從而發現天主的旨意,以愛的獨特方式,服務他人。這樣,我們會發現最好的生活,就是與天主共融合作的生活。聖召是一份邀請,因為天主給了我們自由,讓我們能自由怡悅地回應,選擇與祂共融,達致聖善的生活。在肋未紀中,天主提醒我們說:「你們應該是聖的,因為我,上主,你們的天主是聖的。」(肋.十九:2)

教宗教導我們,教會內的不同聖召,透射天主聖三的奧秘。在耶穌愛的使命中,團結一起,讚美天父聖名,步武耶穌芳表,遵從聖神領導。在祈禱中聆聽天主聖言,參與各項聖事,發現自己獨特的聖召。

耶穌親自賦予我們,向萬民傳播天主聖言的責任:「你們要去使萬民成為門徒,因父及父及聖神之名給他們授洗,教訓他們遵守我所吩咐你們的一切。看!我同你們天天在一起,直到今世的終結」(瑪.廿八:19-20)。我們實踐耶穌的訓誨,教育下一代,加深他們的信德,為更多的聖召祈禱,鼓勵青年接受司鐸職和修道生活的召叫。教宗督促我們說:「今日,我邀請各位特別注意這種聖召,並為他們加強祈禱。」讓我們聯同教宗和普世教會,為更多的司鐸聖職和修道生活的聖召祈禱,使更多青年回應天主的邀請。願天主降福我們,賜予我們許多司鐸和修道人士,在生活中,效法耶穌。願天主幫助他們,善度神聖、純樸、服從和貞潔的生活。

願主降福你和你的家人。

香港教區主教
胡振中樞機
二零零二年預報救主降生節

[2002年4月21日公教報刊登]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply