Lenten Pastoral Letter 2009


The meaning of fasting

The time of Lent is also called the time of Fasting. It is a time to prepare for the celebration of the Pascal Mystery, the summit of the liturgical year. It is to commemorate the forty days of retreat and fasting of our Saviour before his public ministry.


To fast is to set a period of “not eating” or “not eating certain kinds of food” or “to eat with moderation”.


Believers of many religions practice fasting. They all understand that mortification of the desire of the body can increase our spiritual strength.


The code of canon law for the universal Church designates Fridays and Lent as a period for fasting. But it also allows the Pastors of the local Churches to make concrete directives for the details of observation. The Hong Kong Catholic Church Directory states on page 528 the regulation laid down by the late Cardinal John B. Wu, “The faithful may be dispensed from abstinence on Fridays, on condition that on these days they perform special acts of charity or piety, such as making personal sacrifices in the matter of food, alcoholic drink, smoking , or spending less time on amusements (eg. watching T.V., playing majong, etc.), or making a sacrifice of their free time in serving the poor, the sick, the elderly, the lonely and the needy. In addition to this, during Lent, they are exhorted to make a special effort in the practice of works of piety, such as daily Mass, daily visits to the Blessed Sacrament or the Stations of the Cross. As regards Ash Wednesday and Good Friday, the traditional fast and abstinence are to be kept”. So it is clear that it is a misunderstanding to say our Diocese has dispensed the obligation of fasting.


The Holy Father reminds us the meaning of fasting. Of course many people of our time also practice fasting. They do this for their health, to reduce weight, and to avoid over-eating or unbalance in their diet. The Pope reminds us the religious meaning of fasting: To mortify our desire of eating in order to increase our spiritual strength. The spiritual strength helps us to return to God.


Human being is a unity of body and soul. We should not oppose the body and the soul. But it is undeniable that if we do not control the desire of the body, if we do not give up certain enjoyment we would sacrifice the spiritual value. The Pope said, “Fasting can help us to avoid sin.” “Sin and its consequence will weaken the spirit. Fasting can help us to be reconciled with God.”


Fasting helps us to listen more clearly to the Word of God and not to lead a selfish life, so as to live for God who has given his life for us. Jesus fasted for forty days. The devil tempted him and asked him to change the stone into bread. Jesus answered, “Man do not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.”


Already in paradise God had ordered our first parents to fast by forbidding them to eat the fruit of the tree of “knowledge of good and evil”. “Knowledge of good and evil” is to decide for oneself what is good and evil. Fasting is to obey, to take the will of God as the measure of good and evil.


God is love. Love is the only true value. Only to act for love is meaningful.


Jesus said, “whenever you fast do not look dismal, like the hypocrites, for they disfigure their faces so as to show others that they are fasting. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward. But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, so that your fasting may be seen not by others but by your Father who is in secret; and your father who sees in secret will reward you.” (Mt 6:16-18) To fast in order to get others to see and to get praise, it vanity, and not out of love. Fasting has meaning only if it is out of the love for God.


What good do our fasting and mortification do to God? None of our action can bring any good to God. He is infinitely perfect. He does not need anything from us. He only wants our love. He wants to be our God. He wants us to be his people. Fasting repairs our lack of love in the past, expresses our regret. Fasting strengthens our will and prepares us to sacrifices for love.


Whatever we do for love is not measured by the greatness of smallness of the act itself. The two tiny coins of the widow have infinite value because of love. St. Paul said, “If I speak in the tongues of mortals and of angels, but do not have love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing, If I give away all my possessions, and if I hand over body to be burned, but do not have love, I gain nothing.” (1 Cor 13:1-3)

What has my fasting got to do with others? In itself it has nothing. But if I am not used to mortify myself I am not ready to do any sacrifice for others. Our heart is limited. If it is filled with selfishness there is no place for love. Mortification opens our heart. We can embrace all those who need our love. Between “treating oneself with strictness” and “treating others with magnanimity” there is a certain proportionality. The more we can give up some material enjoyment the more we are ready to care for others. To experience the hardship of fasting enables us to feel greater sympathy for those who live in hunger.


Fasting can help us to love God and to love our neighbours. How can we say that fasting in out of date?


Cardinal Zen
2009

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

二零零九年四旬期牧函


守齋的意義

 

四旬期也稱封齋期,是為準備慶祝禮儀年的高峰,巴斯卦奧跡,也為紀念救主開始傳道前四十天的退省和嚴齋。

 

守齋就是在某時期內「不進用食物」或「不進用某些食物」或「有限制地進用食物」。

 

很多宗教的信徒都遵守齋期。大家都了解:克制肉體的慾求能提昇精神的力量。

 

普世教會的法典定每星期五及四旬期為齋期。但法典也授權地方教會牧者可以另定細則。本教區天主教手冊528頁例出已故胡振中樞機主教定下的規則:「逢星期五信友可免守小齋,但必須踐行一些愛德或克己善工:例如:節制飲食、煙酒、減少娛樂消遣 (看電視、打牌等) 的時間,獻出餘暇為窮人、病人、老人、孤獨及其他需要幫助的人服務。此外,在四旬期內,他們宜作特別的善工,例如:每天參與彌撒。每天朝拜聖體或拜苦路。至於在聖灰瞻禮日和耶穌受難日這兩天則得保留傳統的大小齋」。看來,說本教區完全豁免了守齋的本份是一個誤會。

 

教宗提醒我們齋戒的意義。當然現代的人也多會實踐齋戒,但為的是肉體的健康,那所謂戒口,為減肥或為避免營養過度或不當。教宗提醒我們的是齋戒的宗教意義:克制食慾是為提昇精神力量,精神力量幫助我們皈依天主。

 

人是精神和肉體的融合體,我們不該將精神和肉體對立起來;但無可否認,我們如不管制肉身的追求,我們會為了捨不得放棄某些享受而犧牲精神價值。教宗說「禁食能幫助人避免罪惡」,「罪惡及它的後果使人的精神不振,禁食幫助人與天主重修和好」。

 

禁食使人更容易清醒聆聽天主的聖言而不再渡自私的生活,反而為那為他犧牲了自己的天主而生活。耶穌四十日禁食饑餓了,魔鬼誘惑祂,叫祂把石頭變成餅來充飢,耶穌說:「人不祇靠餅而生活,更靠天主口中的說話而生活」。

 

天主在樂園裡已命令原祖禁食,也就是禁止他們吃「知善惡」樹的果子。「知善惡」也就是自己決定善惡。禁食卻就是服從,以天主的旨意為分辨善惡的準繩。


其實天主是愛,祇有愛才是真正的價值,祇有為了愛而做的事才有意義。

耶穌說:「幾時你禁食,不要如同假善人一樣,面帶愁容;因為他們苦喪著臉,是為叫人看出他們禁食來。我實在告訴你們,他們已獲得了他們的賞報。關於你,當你禁食時,要用油抹你的頭,洗你的臉,不要叫人看出你禁食來,但叫你那在暗中之父看見,你的父在暗中看見,必要報答你」(瑪6:16-18)。做來為給人看,為受讚美,是虛榮,不是出於愛。禁食要為了愛天主才有意義。


我們的禁食,克苦對天主有什麼益處?我們的任何行動都不會給天主什麼益處,祂是無窮美善的,也不需要我們給祂什麼,祂要的是我們的愛,祂要做我們的天主,祂要我們做祂的子民。禁食彌補我們過去對愛的缺失,表達我們的懺悔,禁食磨練我們的意志,準備為愛而作出犧牲。


為愛而做的事不計較大小,祇要有愛心,寡婦的兩個小銅錢因愛心成了無價之寶。聖保祿宗徒說:「我若能說人間的語言和能說天使的語言;但我若沒有愛,我就成了個發聲的鑼或發響的鈸。我若有先知之恩,又明白一切奧秘和各種知識,我若有全備的信心,甚至能移山,但我若沒有愛,我什麼也不算。我若把我所有的財產全施捨了,我若捨身投火被焚;但我若沒有愛,為我毫無益處。」(格前13:1-3)


我的禁食與別人有何關係?本來沒有直接的關係,但如果我不習慣克制自己,我沒有準備為任何人作出犧牲。人的心相當有限,如果填滿了自私,那麼愛就擠不進去。克己把我們心的大門敞開了,我們能收納所有需要我們愛的人。「嚴以待己」及「寬以待人」之間似乎有一條比例的定律。越能捨棄一些物質的享受,越有準備關心別人。體驗齋戒的辛苦,也使我們更同情那些被生活環境迫於忍受饑餓的兄弟姊妹。


禁食能助人愛主愛人。我們怎能說禁食已不合時代?


陳日君樞機
二○○九年

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply