• By: davc
  • Categories:

Advent Pastoral Letter 2008


Christmas, Holy Family, Our Family

 

The second “Year of the family” of the Diocese is coming to the end. I hope that every coming year will be a year of the family. The family should always be our chief pastoral concern. God, when He created humanity had at the same time established the family. A man and a woman should be united in a faithful and undivided love. The fruit of this love is a new life. Brothers and sisters increase the joy of the family. The new life grows up in the warmth of the family. The family shares the joy in good time and the pain in adverse condition. The security given by the family makes a young person strong to face life, full of confidence and esteem in himself, responsible and ready for sacrifice.

 

Unfortunately, this family joy cannot be taken for granted. Failed marriages, and broken families are our common experience. Whoever is at fault the result is always painful. These failures could be avoided in most cases. We must not give in to the events.

 

A so called sex culture floods our society, taking “sex” as pure expression of instinct and the body as merchandise. How can love without chastity result in perfect marriage? How can permanent relationship be established without fidelity and generous mutual giving of oneself? How can it give a secure home to the next generation?

 

In his encyclical “God id Love” the Pope denounces the prejudice that the teaching of the Church belittle the love between man and woman. On the contrary, love between man and woman is the masterpiece of God’s creation. God uses the image of betrothal and marriage to describe His love for His people and the love of Christ for the Church. Man is a spiritual being. True love transcends lust. It sees the partner as one more important than oneself. It forgets oneself, respects and loves the other faithfully and for the whole life.

 

God loves us so fundamentally that He became man and dwells among us. “To live together” is the secret of success for a family. Husband and wife must use every possible means to have time together and have time to be close to their children. Christmas and the feast of the Holy Family encourages us to strengthen or, if necessary, to revive the tenderness of the family.

 

There is a saying in Italian, “Natale con i tuoi, Pasqua con chi vuoi”. Christmas is a feast of family gathering. Let us begin with Advent: The Church has special liturgy and let us make our home also into a church.

 

Business and social life should not deprive the husband and wife of the tenderness of being together. Children should not come home and find their parents always missing. Parents should satisfy the innocent demands of the children and guide them when their behaviour is not correct.

 

It is not necessary that every family have a Christmas tree. But to have a wreath and light one more candle on each Advent Sunday can create a wonderful atmosphere. The recent Synod of Bishops encourages “Bible reading”. How good it is if the family can gather every day to do the readings of the Mass of the day or of the next day! Let the children use their own words to pray, to remember the family members who are gone or in difficulties, to remember their birthdays and the important moments of their studies and work. Christmas gifts need not be expensive, they are more meaningful if they are obtained with savings of each day.

 

Jesus is the Saviour who has died and now lives in the glory of the resurrection. But for our need he becomes once again a child and a boy. Let him come to our homes, our schools and our parishes this year as a child and a boy. And let us see him and love him in the children!

 

Cardinal Joseph Zen
Advent 2008

Leave a Reply

二零零八年將臨期牧函


聖誕、聖家、我們的家庭

教區舉行的第二個「家庭年」也很快將溜走了,我希望以後年年都是家庭年,家庭常該是我們牧民的首先對象。天主在創造人的同時也設立了家庭。一男一女要以專一而忠信的愛彼此結合,愛的結晶是新的生命。兄弟姊妹增加家庭的喜樂。在家庭的溫暖中小生命成長。家庭的成員在順境中分享喜樂,在逆境中分擔艱苦。家庭所給與的安全感使青少年堅強面對人生,自信自愛,負責任,肯犧牲。

可惜,這天倫之樂已不見得理所當然,失敗的婚姻、破碎的家庭屬於我們普遍的經驗。不論是誰的過失,結果終是痛苦。這些失敗多數是可以避免的,我們不要向現實投降。

色情文化氾濫,把「性」看作純粹本能的發洩,把肉體看作貨物。沒有貞潔的愛德怎能有美滿的婚姻,沒有忠信、慷慨的彼此奉獻怎能建設恆久的關係?怎能給下一代一個安全的家?

教宗在「天主是愛」通諭裡、否認教會的道理貶抑了男女的愛,正相反,男女的愛是天主的傑作,天主也以訂婚和婚姻形容祂和選民的關係、耶穌對教會的恩愛。人是有靈性的,真正的愛會超越情慾,視對方重要過自己,忘記自己,專一地終生尊敬愛護他/她。

天主愛人愛得徹底也就降生成人取了肉軀,居住在我們中間。「一起生活」是家庭成功的秘訣。一定要爭取夫婦共處的時間,一定要爭取時間陪在子女身邊。聖誕節、聖家節鼓勵我們鞏固,甚或重建家庭的溫馨。

意大利有一句成語「Natale con i tuoi, Pasqua con chi vuoi」,聖誕是家庭團聚的慶日。那麼讓我們從將臨期做起:聖堂裡有禮儀,我們的家也該成為另一座聖堂。

生意、社交不應該完全剝削夫妻甜蜜的共聚,孩子回到家裡不應該終見不到父母。兒女天真的要求要樂意順就,他們行為有偏差時要及時善導。

不一定家家都要有聖誕樹,但有一個花座、將臨期每星期點多一枝蠟燭,也可以製造氣氛。今次全球主教會議特別鼓勵「聖言誦禱」,如果在家裡大家一起祈禱,頌讀當天 (或明天) 彌撒的讀經該是多好呢!在祈禱中讓小朋友用他們的話,記得家中已亡或有病或在特別困境中的成員,當然也記得每人的生日、學業或工作的關鍵時刻。聖誕的禮物不應以貴重為理想,如果是每天節儉的成果那更有意義。

今日的耶穌是復活升天的救主,但為我們的需要他又成為嬰孩、少年,讓他在今年聖誕以嬰孩、少年的身份來到我們家裡,來到我們的學校裡,我們的堂區裡。也讓我們在小孩子身上見到祂,愛護祂!

陳日君樞機
二零零八年

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply