Easter Pastoral Letter 2008


Let us quietly taste the Resurrection of Jesus

 

The last few days I was in Rome attending the meeting of the “Commission on Church in China”. Although it rained a little, the weather in general was sunny. Especially on the way to the airport for my return to Hong Kong, I was able to enjoy how beautiful was the sky without pollution.

 

“The first day after the Sabbath” should have been such a sunny day. Three days before a scandalous event shook Jerusalem. The prophet who went through cities and villages, preaching “the kingdom of heaven is here” was condemned to death and was crucified.

 

Did he not heal many sick and help many suffering people? This time he was not able to save himself. His disciples were dispersed. With the help of some good people his poor mother took his wounded body and buried him in a hurry.

It was told that the heavens vindicated him. When he was hanging on the cross the sky darkened and the earth shook. But then all turned quiet again. He really died. He did not speak anymore. His eyes were closed.

 

Surely some remembered that he said he would rise again on the third day. Should his rising from the dead not equally shake up the whole city? No, he did not announce when and where he would manifest to all people the glory of his resurrection. The whole world is still waiting for that day.

The morning of the first day after the Sabbath he rose quietly. He came to be together with the people he loved and who loved him. Quietly he came to see his mother and embraced her. He let Mary Magdalene, who was searching for him eagerly, to be the first one to find him. He brought peace to the disciples who were ashamed and frightened.

 

Should he not go to the high priests to assert himself? Should he not demand Pilate to apologize? Should he not give the people an opportunity to show him their repentance? No, this is for the Apostles to do fifty days later. Now is the time for his disciples to quietly enjoy his resurrection.

 

These fifty days are precious. He recalled to their mind his teachings. They remembered, they understood. Now they truly know him.

 

John definitely remembered the day when he asked Jesus where he lived. Jesus took him to his home, he saw how modest was the young master and how simple was his life. Later on some disciples were so confounded by the reputation and the miracles of the master that they would even ask to be seated on his left and right when he would be enthroned as king. Now John understood what He said, “The Son of man came not to be served but to serve and to give his life as a ransom”. Actually, at the beginning of his ministry, when Jesus was baptized by John the Baptist, and also during the Transfiguration before his Passion, the Father had already indicated, with referrence to the prophecy of Isaiah, that the master was “the suffering servant”, “you should listen to him”.

 

Peter did not understand how he could forgive his brother seventy-seven times. Now he understood. He denied his master three times but Jesus forgave him. Jesus even confirmed his mission as the head shepherd.

 

Seeing the wounds of Jesus the disciples understood: Blessed are those who mourn, blessed are those who are persecuted. They understood that salvation did not come from power and strength but from sacrifice and love.

Dear brothers and sisters and especially those who will be baptized this Easer, I believe you will celebrate solemnly the great Pascal mystery with decorations of flowers, candles, sounds of organs and singing of the Alleluia.

 

But Easter is not just one day. It is not even only eight days. There are forty days from Easter to Ascension and ten days in preparation to Pentecost. These fifty days are all Easter. Let us enjoy quietly these fifty days! Find time to come to Church and sit beside the Easter candle and savour the joy of Our Lady, the apostles and the holy women when Jesus came to be together with them. In the Church, or in your home open the Bible. Let the risen Jesus explain his teaching to us as he did so to the two disciples on the way to Emmaus.

 

These teachings are not fashionable? All the circonstances challenge our faith? Do not be afraid! Let us listen to the risen Jesus whispering to me, to you, “Peace be with you!”

 

Bishop Joseph Zen

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

二零零八年復活節牧函


讓我們靜靜地體味耶穌的復活

 

這幾天在羅馬參與「中國教會委員會」的會議,雖然下了一些雨,但大部份是晴天。尤其在赴機場乘回程飛機的路上,欣賞到沒有污染的天空是多麼美麗。

「安息日後第一天的早上」該是這麼一個晴天吧。三天前發生了轟動耶京全城的醜事,那位三年來周遊各村各城,宣講「天國已來臨」的先知,竟被判了死罪,被釘在十字架上。

他不是醫好了很多病人,幫助了很多困苦中的人嗎?這次卻救不了自己。他的門徒也都走散了,他可憐的母親也在好心人的幫助下??的收了那沒有完膚的屍體。

聽說老天還是為他伸了冤,當他懸在十字架上時天黑了,地震了,可是一切還是靜了下來。他真的死了,不說話了,眼也閉上了。

應該有人記得他說過第三天會復活的,這復活不也應該轟動全城嗎?不,他沒有預告幾點鐘,在哪裡,顯示給大眾看他復活的光榮,那日子全世界的人都還等著哩!

安息日後的第一天早上祂靜靜的復活了。和祂心愛的人,和敬愛祂的人重聚了。祂靜靜的回到祂母親身邊,擁抱了她。祂讓心急找祂的瑪利亞瑪達肋納先找到了祂,祂把平安帶回給那些又慚愧,又害怕的門徒。

祂不該去司祭長面前爭口氣嗎?不該叫比拉多認錯嗎?不該讓群眾向祂表示懺悔嗎?不,這些讓宗徒們五十天後才去做吧。現在是讓門徒們安靜享受祂復活的時候。

這五十天太寶貴了。祂和他們溫習了從前祂講過的道理,他們記起來了,他們明白了,現在他們才真正了解祂了:

若望一定記得那天他問耶穌住在哪裡,耶穌帶他去了祂家裡,他看到這位年輕的師傅是多麼平易近人,祂的生活是多麼樸素。後來師傅的名聲和祂所行的奇跡沖昏了徒弟的頭腦,竟要求在祂登王位時坐在祂的左邊和右邊。現在若望明白祂說的「人子來不是為受服事而是為服事人,並交出自己的性命,為大眾作為贖價」。其實,在他開始傳道時、在約旦河領受若翰洗禮時、後來在他受苦難前,在山上顯聖容時,天父早已再三暗示這師傅就是依撒意亞先知所預言的「痛苦的僕人」「你們要聽從他」,向他學習,效法他。

伯多祿那時不明白怎麼可以寬恕兄弟七十個七次。現在他明白了,他三次否認師傅耶穌,祂也寬恕了他,毫不計較,還肯定了他首牧的使命。

看了祂的五傷,門徒不難明白:「哭泣的人是有福的」,「為義而受迫害的人是有福的」。他們明白了救恩並不來自威勢和強力,而來自犧牲和愛心。

各位教友,尤其是在今年復活節領洗的兄弟姊妹,我信你們大家都隆重的慶祝了這巴斯卦的大奧蹟,張燈掛彩的教堂、鮮花、蠟燭、琴聲、歌聲,高唱亞肋路亞。

但復活節絕不是一天,也不止八天。復活至升天的四十天,再加上等候聖神降臨的十天,這五十天都是復活節!讓我們靜靜的享受這五十天!有空時到聖堂裡坐在復活聖燭旁邊,回味聖母、宗徒、聖女們和耶穌重聚時的喜樂。在聖堂、在家裡打開聖經,讓復活的耶穌給我們解釋祂的道理,如同祂向前往厄瑪烏的兩位門徒講解了一樣。

這些道理不太合潮流嗎?四周一切事實都向我們的信德挑戰嗎?不要害怕,讓我們聽聽復活的耶穌細聲的給我、給你說:「祝你平安!」

陳日君主教
二零零八年

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply