Lenten Pastoral Letter 2004

To evangelize by serving
To show compassion by giving

 


Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

To carry out one of the recommendations of the Diocesan Synod we have launched the “Year of Evangelization” in 2003. During the inauguration celebration I said: Evangelization springs from the zeal to proclaim to all, “I know Jesus and I am so happy!”

 

So, let us ask two questions. First of all, how does a happy person express his joy? And secondly, if I am happy because I know Jesus how am I to help others to know Jesus?

 

Firstly, when we are happy we are especially generous. When the heart is full of joy we care not so much with gain or loss. A happy person diffuses his joy all around him. When others are happy it is a celebration for him. In chapter 15 of St. Luke’s gospel the person who lost the sheep and the person who lost the coin when they found it again, did he/she not invite all the neighbours to rejoice with him/her? Joy increases in sharing!

 

However, there are many who live under the heavy burden of life are not able to share the joy of others unless others first share their sufferings. So it is that those who live in joy should sacrifice themselves and serve. Suffering decreases in sharing! In sharing the sufferings of others we indirectly diffuse joy.

 

Secondly, it happens that adverse situations surpass our good will. Facing injustice and natural or man-made disasters we feel helpless. But we must not despair. We must not give up. We put our trust in God (Boundless Hope). Even to the point of “doing the impossible”.

 

Besides directly helping our brothers and sisters personally, we should strive to reform the social system, to fight to obtain justice for the weak and the poor. Loving service and selfless concern will bring immense consolation to our brothers and sisters even if we do not obtain immediate result. It is easier to carry the cross in loving company.

 

To stand beside Jesus’ “least of brethren” is the best way to help them know Jesus. Jesus can no more be seen in his flesh after the ascension but he asks us his followers to be his substitutes: “Love one another as I have loved you”.


To love and to serve is the witness of faith. Social concern and evangelization are the two sides of the same coin. Seeing our concern the brothers and sisters will ask: Who are these people? When they find out that we are the followers of Jesus they will come to the conclusion: Those who believe in Jesus are those who love. I also want to know Jesus!

 

Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ, Lent is a time for reflection. Let us ask ourselves if we are Christians in fact and not just in name. Do others see the love of Jesus is us? Am I evangelizing by serving and concern?

 

The Lenten Campaign organized by Caritas Hong Kong is an appropriate occasion for us to be generous. Let us give joyfully, not calculating money, action and love.


Many people say, “We want to see Jesus” (Jn. 12:21). May they see him in us.

 

Bishop Joseph ZEN, SDB
13 January 2004

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

二零零四年四旬期牧函


服務傳喜訊 施與表關懷

各位教友:

按教區會議的建議,我們在2003 年傳教節進入了「福傳年」,我在揭幕牧函中說過:福傳主要在於一股熱情,向大家說:「我認識了耶穌,開心得不得了!」

那末,第一、開心的人會怎麼樣表示他的喜樂呢?第二、我開心是因為認識了耶穌,那末我怎麼樣最能幫助別人也認識耶穌呢?

第一、我們開心的時候會特別大方。心裡充滿了喜樂就不會計較外來的得失,開心的人自然會把他的喜樂散佈到他身邊的人身上,別人的喜樂就像是對他的祝賀。在路加福音十五章裡,失了羊而尋獲的,失了銀幣而找回的,不是叫鄰舍和他/她一起高興嗎?喜樂越分享越增加!

可惜,不少人的生活困難重重,根本提不起精神來分享別人的喜樂,除非別人先分擔他們的苦難,這也就是所以喜樂的人該犧牲自己,服務他人,苦難越分擔越減輕!分擔苦難,間接也就散佈喜樂。

第二、有時客觀的處境勝過我們的善意,面對某些不公義的狀況,或天災人禍,我們無能為力,但在這情形下,我們也不會灰心,不會放棄,我們信賴天主(望德無疆),甚至「知不能為而為之」。

除了直接服務個別兄弟姊妹,我們也致力改革社會制度,為弱勢社群爭取公道。愛心的服務,無私的關懷,就算見不到眼前的成功,為在苦難中的兄弟姊妹也已帶來莫大安慰,有人陪伴著也就比較容易背著十字架行苦路。

站在耶穌「最小的兄弟」身邊也就是最能幫助他們認識耶穌,耶穌救世功成後升了天,我們的肉眼看不見他,但祂要我們、祂的門徒、做祂的替身:「你們要彼此相愛,如同我愛了你們一樣」。

愛心和服務是信仰的見証,關社和福傳是同一金牌的兩面。見到我們的關懷,那些兄弟姊妹會問:這些人是誰?知道了我們是耶穌的信徒,他們會下結論:信耶穌的人有愛心,我也要認識耶穌!

各位兄弟姊妹,四旬期是反省的時候,讓我們問問自己,是否做了一個有名有實的基督信徒,別人在我身上能否見到耶穌的愛心,我有沒有以服務及關懷去福傳?

明愛發起的四旬期募捐運動,為我們是個良機,讓我們慷慨捐助,樂意地,不計較地捐錢,出力,獻出愛心。

很多人在說「我們想見見耶穌」(若12:21),希望他們在我們身上見到祂。

末牧
陳日君主教
二○○四年一月十三日

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply