Easter Message
Christ Amongst You, Your Hope of Glory


Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

Our world is still threatened by evil and despair, and against this background we celebrate the feast of the Resurrection of Jesus. This feast is an affirmation of God’s love for us, for God did not allow death to reign supreme over Jesus: Jesus conquered death and so became the fount of our faith, the certainty of our hope and the power of our love.

Because of the Resurrection, we take to heart the words of St. Paul when he reminds the community at Colossae that the Christ was among them as their hope of glory (Col. 1:27). These words of St. Paul echo the promises of the Lord: “I shall not leave you orphans” (Jn. 14:18). “I am with you always, even to the end of time” (Mt. 28:19-20). In these promises Jesus reiterated the meaning of his own mission, the mission to be Emmanuel, God with us (Mt. 1:23). Jesus desired to be forever true to his name, to be “God with us”. If then, God is with us, who can be against us?

When there is much hopelessness in the world, darkness and doubt can seep into our own hearts, giving rise to much anxiety and even antagonism. Because Christ is amongst us as our hope of glory, we must continually take heart and not give in to despair and desolation. As we hope to attain the glory promised us in the Resurrection, we must also continue to spread the word of God, for it is that word which is spirit and life (Jn. 6:63), it is that word which is a light for our path (Ps. 119:105)

Once again at Easter we here in Hong Kong are grateful that the word of God continues to take root in the hearts of our brothers and sisters. We welcome some two thousand new members into our community as they receive baptism this Easter. We pray for them. We pray that, in union will Christ who is their hope of glory, they too may become with us the light of the world and the salt of the earth (Mt. 5:14-16). Against the background of worldwide uncertainly and lack of hope, these newly baptized place their hope in Christ. Their faith gives them the certainty of God’s love for them, the confidence to proclaim their faith in Christ as they enter the church.

Each Easter, as we proclaim “the Light of Christ”, we share St. John’s confidence: “The darkness is passing and the true light is already shining” (1 Jn. 2:8). The darkness has not yet entirely passed away and so there is still much darkness over the earth. The true light is already shining, for Christ is risen! Christ is always and everywhere with us. He is our hope.

For us, hope is never an emotion, a particular stance towards the world, a stoic heroism in the face of adversity. For us, hope is the person of the risen Christ, present in the church, his mystical body, present in the Eucharist at the heart of the church, present in the guidance of the Holy Spirit. The more united we are with Christ, the more will we have hope. Union with Christ may, indeed, reveal to us in an even clearer light our own weaknesses and limitations. That clearer light will, at the same time, become a light of hope, for we will with St. Paul realise that it is not our weaknesses and limitations which are significant, but rather the strength of God (2 Cor. 12:7-10)

St. Paul prays for this strength for his community at Colossae: “May you have the strength, based on his own glorious power, never to give in, but to bear everything joyfully, thanking the Father who has!K enabled us to join the saints and with them to inherit the lights” (Col. 1:11-12). In these dark days for humanity, we would do well to make this prayer of St. Paul’s our own. For in the communion of saints we too by God’s grace will experience the gift of strength. In that strength we will experience a joyful and grateful hope as, together with Christ, we become the light of the world (Jn. 8:12; 9:5).

Christian hope bears within it the responsibility of carrying Jesus’ message of faith, hope and love to the whole world. That mission can only be realised through a deep interior conversion where we ourselves become imbued with the hope of Christ. Then we shall more faithfully be the light of the world and a vehicle of Christ’s hope in the midst of darkness. “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may bound in hope” (Rom. 15:13)

+ John Baptist Cardinal Wu
The Bishop of Hong Kong
Solemnity of St. Joseph 2002

[Published in Sunday Examiner, 31 March 2002]

Leave a Reply

復活節
基督在你們中,作了你們得光榮的希望

主內親愛的兄弟姊妹:

世局險惡,令人失望;慶祝耶穌復活,肯定天主愛人,不許死亡戰勝耶穌:耶穌征服了死亡,成了我們信德的泉源,望德的保障,愛德的力量。

因為耶穌復活,我們記取聖保祿勉勵哥羅森團體的話:基督在他們中,作了他們得光榮的望德(哥.一:27)。聖保祿的勉勵,是主的許諾的迴響:「我必不留下你們為孤兒」(若.十四:18);「我同你們天天在一起,直到今世的終結」(瑪.廿八:19-20)。耶穌一再闡釋自己的使命,就是厄瑪奴耳,天主與我們同在(瑪.一:23)。耶穌切望永遠忠於這個稱號:「天主與我們同在」。如果這樣,誰能反對我們呢?

世上充滿絕望,黑暗疑惑滲透人心,產生焦慮、敵對情緒。基督在我們中間,是我們的望德和光榮,我們應該時刻警醒,不可絕望沮喪;期望天主所許的復活光榮,繼續傳揚天主聖言,因為聖言就是神,就是生命(若.六:63),就是照亮我們步履的靈燈(詠.一一九:105)。

今年復活佳節,我們再度深感天主聖言,不斷在兄弟姊妹心中,生根植基。我們衷心歡迎二千多位新成員,在這個復活佳節,接受洗禮,加入教會。讓我們為他們祈禱。祈求他們也在基督光榮望德內,團結共融,與我們一同成為世界之光,地上的鹽(瑪.五:14-16)。全球不安,缺乏希望,這些新領洗教友,寄望基督,加入教會,充滿信心,宣認基督。

每年復活佳節,我們宣認「基督之光」,分享聖若望的信心:「黑暗正在消逝,真光已在照耀」(若一.二:8)。黑暗尚未完全消逝,仍然籠罩大地。真光已在照耀,因為基督已經復活!基督時時處處與我們同在。基督是我們的望德。

對我們來說,望德絕不是某種情緒化或世界觀,也不是以苦行者的英雄主義,面對逆境。在我們來說,望德是復活的基督,臨在教會內,基督奧體,教會心臟,聖體聖事,和聖神引導。我們與基督的共融愈深切,望德愈穩固。的確,與基督共融,我們更清楚見到自己的軟弱和局限。這清晰的光,要變成望德之光,因為我們緊記聖保祿的教導,重要的不是我們的軟弱和局限,而是天主的德能(格後.十二:7-10)。

聖保祿為哥羅森的團體祈禱說:「全力加強自己,賴他光榮的德能,含忍容受一切,欣然感謝那使我們有資格,在光明中分享聖徒福份的天父」(哥.一:11-12)。在人類這段黑暗的日子,我們不妨也以聖保祿的祈禱,作為自己的祈禱。因為諸聖相通功,我們也可蒙天主恩寵,獲賜力量,體驗喜悅,感恩希望,與基督同為世界之光(若.八:12;九:5)。

基督徒的望德,蘊藏著向全世界傳送信、望、愛信息的責任,而惟有透過內心真誠的皈依,完全滲透基督的望德,我們才能達成這項使命,並在黑暗中,更忠誠地成為世界之光,作基督望德的工具。「願賜望德的天主,因著你們的信心,使你們充滿各種喜樂和平安,使你們因著聖神的德能,富於望德」(羅.十五:13)

香港教區主教
胡振中樞機
二零零二年聖若瑟節

[2002年3月31日公教報刊登]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply