Lenten Message
No Greater Love


Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

“Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends” (Jn. 15:13)

This year the beginning of Lent coincides with Lunar New Year, a time of growth and love, a time to care and share. In his recent Lenten Address to the universal church, the Holy Father invites us to contemplate anew the stupendous mystery of God’s love for us. He reminds us that this love does not derive from any merits of ours but is purely gratuitous. Even though we had separated ourselves from Him and forfeited His friendship, God has graciously sent His Son into the world to draw us back into communion with Himself. He has stopped down to us in our weakness and, on His sole initiative, has made a new and everlasting covenant of love with us. Jesus has sealed this covenant with His Blood showing just how infinite His love is.

Love should evoke love. So we ask with the Psalmist: “What return can I make to the Lord for all the good things he has given to me?” (Ps. 116:12). Taking as our guide the Lord’s own admonition: “You received without paying, give without pay” (Mt. 10:8), I offer three suggestions for your special consideration during this Lent.

Firstly: that we respect the gift of life.
The Catechism of the Catholic Church affirms that human life is sacred because from the beginning it involves the creative action of God. It quotes the prophet Jeremiah: “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you and before you were born I consecrated you” (Jer. 1:5). Life can never be regarded as one’s own property or possession. Hence the human embryo, from its conception, must be defended in its integrity; it must be cared for and healed, like any other human being. (Nos. 2270 & 2274)

Likewise the sick or those whose lives are diminished or weakened deserve special respect. Our faith tells us that life is a gift and that it remains precious even when marked by suffering or limitation. Modern technology has already achieved the cloning of animals. The day may not be far off when we will have the cloning of humans. Though science may devise methods of improving the quality of life and this is laudable, it should never usurp God’s sovereignty over life and death.

Secondly: that we help the underprivileged.
Most of us enjoy the good things in life and are afforded the benefits of civil society. Not all, however, are so blessed. Especially in recent times, with the downturn in the economy, there are people who are badly off and hardly able to afford the necessities of life. The gap between the rich and the poor is widening and there is a big disparity in the incomes earned by the different segments of our society.

Two examples give further evidence of this unfairness. The first example is our foreign domestic helpers, the long working hours, poor accommodation with meager remuneration and other forms of exploitation are surely an injustice. The second example is that of mainland children of Hong Kong citizens seeking right of abode here. Despite reasonable expectations the courts have decided to send them back. This would seem to offend the canons of natural justice, if not international law, and surely is a reflection on Hong Kong and its people who still strive to become a community of compassion and love.

Thirdly: that we share with the needy.
In the parable of the Good Samaritan Jesus answers the question posed by a lawyer, “Who is my neighbour?” (Lk. 10:29). Here he goes much further than the Old Testament concept in which the neighbour was a friend, one who shared the same religion and nationality. For Jesus the neighbour is one in need, irrespective of ethnic origin or creed. God is our common Father; we are brothers and sisters to each other. In his account of the Final Judgment he confirms this teaching and adds to it a decisive element: that whatever is done to a brother or sister is done to Him. He identifies Himself with the poor person. Jesus said, “Truly I say to you, as long as you did to one of the least of my brothers, you did it to me” (Mt. 25:37-40).

A practical way of showing that we are ‘neighbours; is to support, in spite of the present financial hardship, the Lenten fund-raising campaign, organised each year by our diocese through Caritas-Hong Kong, to help those in need both here and elsewhere. The contribution you make, great or small, will enable many poor people to experience in some way the compassion of Christ. We are the instruments of his love and concern, ambassadors of hope, like the good Samaritan, to our brothers and sisters in need. Our sacrifices may cause us pain but in no way be nearly as painful as Jesus’ sacrifice on the Cross, when He laid down His life for our salvation.

God of mercy, who sent your Son into the world not to condemn but to save it, open our eyes to behold Jesus lifted up on the Cross and to see in those outstretched arms your abundant compassion. Let the world’s poor and deprived come to know that by your gracious gift we are saved and delivered, so great is the love you have for us. Grant this through Christ Our Lord. Amen.

+ John Baptist Cardinal Wu
The Bishop of Hong Kong
The Presentation of the Lord 2002

[Published in Sunday Examiner, 17 February 2002]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

四旬期
沒有更大的愛情

主內親愛的兄弟姊妹:

「人若為自己的朋友捨掉性命,再沒有比這更大的愛情了」(若.十五:13)

今年四旬期開始,恰在農曆新年期間,良辰佳節,發人深省:成長成熟,相親相愛,分擔分享。教宗今年的四旬期牧函,邀請我們默想,天主的愛,偉大奧妙,不是因為我們的功績,純粹出於祂的恩寵;即使我們離棄上主,祂仍恩賜聖子,屈尊就卑,降生成人,引領我們改過自新,以其寶血,重締盟約,顯示大愛。

愛激發愛,我們應該以愛還愛,自問:「我應該怎樣報謝上主,謝祂賜給我的一切恩祐?」(詠.一一六:12)請聽主耶穌的教導:「你們白白得來的,也要白白分施」(瑪.十:8)謹提三點建議,作為默想要點。

第一、我們應尊重生命的恩賜
天主教教理肯定,人的生命是神聖的,始初就涉及天主的化工,(天主教教理.2270)。請聽天主的話:「我還沒有在母腹內形成你以前,我已認識了你;在你還沒有出離母胎以前,我已祝聖了你」(耶.一:5)生命絕非私人財產。因此人的胚胎自始就該受到保護;像人一樣,得到照料(天主教教理.2274)。

同樣,病人和弱者,也應獲得特別尊重。信仰教導我們,生命是恩賜,即使殘障受苦,仍然珍貴無比。現代科技發展,已經複製動物,複製人類,為期不遠。科學可能發現方法,改善生活質素,值得讚美,但絕不能僭取天主掌握生死的主權。

 

第二、我們應幫助弱勢的社群
我們大都享受美好生活的事物,得到文明社會的福利,但不是所有人都這樣幸運,特別近年來,因為經濟低迷,有人面臨困境,甚至三餐不繼。社會貧富懸殊,收入差距擴大。

試舉兩例,加以說明。例子一,我們的海外家庭傭工,工作時間長,住宿環境差,所領薪酬低,聞有其他形式的剝削,境遇實在不合公義。例子二,港人在大陸的子女,尋求居港權,抱著合理期望,法庭裁決,遣返他們。這似違反自然公義,甚至國際公法,肯定反映港人,仍需努力,促使人間有情,社會有愛。

第三、我們應照顧貧困的人士
在慈善的撒瑪黎雅人的比喻中,法學士問耶穌:「誰是我的近人?」(路.十:29)舊約指與自己同屬一國,同信一教的人。耶穌是指有需要的人,不分國籍或信仰。耶穌講述最後審判時,再次肯定同樣的教訓,並加上重要的一點:無論人對他最小的兄弟姊妹做了甚麼,就是對祂做的。耶穌認同貧苦的人說:「我實在告訴你們:凡你們對我這些最小兄弟中的一個所做的,就是對我做的」(瑪.廿五:37-40)

為表示我們彼此是「近人」,一個實際的方法就是支持我們教區透過香港明愛主辦的四旬期運動,幫助本地及其他地區有需要的人。捐獻無論多少,將使許多窮苦人士,感到基督的愛與同情。像慈善的撒瑪黎雅人一樣,對於我們有需要的兄弟姊妹,我們都是基督愛與關懷的工具,是希望的大使。目前,經濟低迷,我們的犧牲,可能造成些許痛苦,但決比不上耶穌釘在十字架上,救贖我們,犧牲自己。

仁慈的天主,你派遣你的聖子,來到世上,不是來判罪而是來拯救,求你開啟我們的眼目,瞻仰十字架上的耶穌,伸出救援之手,展現豐盛的愛。讓世上窮苦和被剝削的人,明白你的恩賜,得到救援,你的愛情,深厚偉大。因我們的主基督,恩准我們所求。亞孟。

香港教區主教
胡振中樞機
二零零二年獻主節

[2002年2月17日公教報刊登]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply