Christmas Message 2012


Glory to God in the highest,
and on earth peace to those on whom his favour rests! (Lk 2:14)

Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

 

As Christmas is approaching, it is time for us to share once again with one another the joy of the Birth of our Saviour. Seeing the Infant Jesus in a manger, clothed in the love and tenderness of Mary and Joseph, I cannot help but praise the Lord in unison with the angels: “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to those on whom his favour rests!” (Lk 2:14) These two verses are my prayer to the Lord to thank Him for guiding the Diocese of Hong Kong in its evangelizing mission this year and in the future.

 

In February this year, I was honoured to be appointed by Pope Benedict XVI as Cardinal, and later in October as one of the Presidents at the Synod of Bishops. I received these appointments not because of my competence, but rather because of the love of the Holy Father for China and his appreciation of the vigour and vitality of our faithful as manifested in various ways in evangelization. Indeed, at present our diocese has more than 1,000 volunteer catechists and others actively involved in the propagation of the faith. Thanks to their efforts in the Year of the Laity (2010-2012), we have learnt to our great delight that 3,500 adults received the Sacraments of Christian Initiation at Easter Vigil this year. Now that our diocese has inaugurated the Year of Faith, we should strive to deepen our faith and spirituality even more, in response to the Holy Father’s call. While aiming at our full transformation in Christ, let us join hands with our brothers and sisters in the Lord in bearing witness to our faith in our daily lives. In this way, we will not only bring the Gospel and God’s love to the people around us, but will also glorify God’s name by word and deed.

 

As you are well aware, during this year our diocese has twice conveyed our expectations and our suggestions to the new government of the Hong Kong SAR.  It was on February 19 and September 23 respectively. Besides calling for an implementation of universal suffrage in the election of the Chief Executive and of the legislature, we urged the authorities to improve the current policies on housing, health care, education and retirement security. On top of such an earnest appeal, we emphasized: “Stable marriage and harmonious family life are prerequisites to safeguarding the well-being of society.” Following the constant teaching of the Catholic Church (cf Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1601-1605; 1609-1617; 1643-1654), we wish to reaffirm that marriage is a mutual self-giving and lifelong commitment between a man and a woman, whereby they form a family and enrich themselves, through the complementarity of body, mind and spirit, and a partnership embracing their whole life. While marriage is intended for the benefit of husband and wife, it is also directed towards the procreation and upbringing of children.

 

We must bear in mind that an intact and harmonious family builds upon the practice of virtues ─ sincerity, love and understanding ─ on the part of every member of the family. This personal growth in virtues and the strengthening of family relations should reach out to the social, national and global levels. As a classical Chinese proverb so wisely puts it, the well-being of human society hinges on four goals, which are to be achieved one by one: “self-cultivation, regulating one’s family, rightly governing one’s state and bringing peace to the entire world.” If we follow this advice of our ancestors and act accordingly, we will be able to experience God’s profound love for us and enjoy true peace and harmony on earth.

 

Dear Brothers and Sisters, the Holy Family of Nazareth is a model of our families. Let us therefore come to the Infant Jesus in the manger, and pray to Him for the grace to imitate the Holy Family. By setting the Holy Family as the unique model of our family life, we will certainly grow spiritually in the Year of Faith, and be able to enhance our communion and solidarity with one another, to bear more fruits in evangelization, and to foster the core values of marriage and the family in Hong Kong. May the Kingdom of God and the Coming of our Lord Jesus Christ be realized on earth soon.

 

Wishing all of you a joyful and peaceful Christmas and New Year.

 

 

+John Card. TONG
Bishop of Hong Kong
Advent 2012

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

聖誕節牧函

天主在天受光榮,主愛的人在世享平安!(路二:14)


主內的弟兄姊妹:

 

普天同慶的聖誕節又快來臨了,看到誕生於馬槽裡的聖嬰,以及慈祥的聖母瑪利亞和聖若瑟,使我不期然想起聖經所載的天使讚頌:「天主在天受光榮,主愛的人在世享平安!」(路二:14)我要借用這兩句頌讚作為我對天主的感恩祈禱,因為祂帶領著我教區在過去一年和未來日子致力福傳。

 

本年二月,我蒙教宗本篤十六世擢升為樞機;十月期間,又蒙邀請參加世界主教代表大會,並出任主席團成員之一。這並非出於我個人才德,乃是因為教宗非常關愛中國,又很欣賞香港教區的福傳活力:我們擁有超過一千位義務傳道員,而透過他們在「教友年」(2010-2012)的努力,今年逾越節守夜禮有三千五百位成年人領受入門聖事。我們剛邁進「信德年」,更當努力回應教宗的呼召,悔改更新,深化自己的信德和靈修,讓自己被基督全面轉化,亦聯結教會內的弟兄姊妹一起,向社會作出美好的生活見證。這樣,不但能廣揚福音,而且必定有助世人浸潤在天主的慈愛中,使天主的光榮日益彰顯。

 

此外,我教區先後於今年二月十九日及九月二十三日向新一屆特區政府表達了一些期望和建議。除了呼籲落實全民雙普選,以及改善目前本港在房屋、醫療、教育及退休保障四大範疇的政策之外,還特別強調:「穩定的婚姻及和諧家庭生活,乃保障社會福祉必需條件。」遵照天主教會恆常的訓導(參閱《天主教教理》1601-1605號﹔1609-1617號﹔1643-1657號),我們堅持婚姻是一男一女彼此交付、互託終身的結合,藉此男女雙方成家立室,並在身心靈上互相補足,在整個生活上結為一體。除達成夫妻的福祉以外,婚姻的另一主要目的,就是生育和教養子女。

 

健全和諧的家庭實有賴各成員的自我修養,以及彼此之間的真摯坦誠、相親相愛及相互包容。這種自我修養和家庭關係,亦應擴及社會、國家及全球。所以我們中國傳統的名訓是:「修身、齊家、治國、平天下」。這樣,推己及人,我們必能令眾人感受造物主的厚愛,共享真正的平安。

 

祝聖誕快樂,新年進步,主祐安康!

 

+湯漢樞機
香港教區主教

二0一二年將臨期

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply