Christmas Message

Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

 

Joy to the world, the Lord has come! Joy to you all! How can we be joyful this Christmas? “God so loved the world that he gave his only Son… God sent the Son into the world, not to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him” (Jn. 3:16-17). This is the cause of our joy.

 

Recent events and the present world situation, however, may make many people question our faith in the Father’s love. It is unfortunately very easy for us to harbour false images of God. Frequently in the Old Testament God appeared almost like a violent God and today too many in our world still subscribe to such false images.

 

Yet we have the First Cammandment of the Decalogue to liberate us from all such false images. We are forbidden to make graven images of God. We are forbidden to worship false images of God. If we try to live this liberating revelation to the full, we will look at the mystery and the sacredness of human life with clearer minds and more loving hearts.

 

The mystery of God is revealed to us in the only true image of God Himself, which is the God-given image of Jesus, for it is he who is “the image of the unseen God” (Col. 1:15). As God’s revealed image, Jesus is God’s gift to us: he is the incarnation of God’s love for humanity. He became flesh and dwelt among us. If, then, we remain united with Jesus in his mystical body, the Church, we will experience the liberating power of his grace. We will be liberated from all false images of God and learn that God’s will for all of us is love.

 

We celebrate the life of Jesus in two great festivals, Christmas and Easter. These feasts give us two great symbols of God’s love for us: the Manger and the Cross. Called to contemplate the love of God made incarnate in Jesus, we are confronted by the mysteries of life and death. If our hearts are sensitive enough, we must see the shadow of the Cross falling across the Manger, just as death marked our own lives on earth. Yet, this dose not leave us without hope. We continue to enjoy God’s gift of hope, for death leads to resurrection because love led to the birth of Jesus at Bethlehem: “for love is strong as death” (Song of Songs 8:6)

 

While the Old Testament frequently pictures God as a warrior, almost a violent God, there was already a great breakthrough in Isaiah. It is no accident that we rely so much upon this great prophet during Advent and at Christmas to help us enter more deeply into the mystery of Christmas. Isaiah is a sure guide for us because, through God’s inspiration, he came to the great insight that God saves us, not by strength or force or violence, but by suffering, the vicarious suffering of the Suffering Servant. In his public life and in his Paschal mystery, Jesus took on the role of this Suffering Servant, but even at Christmas suffering already entered into the story of his birth. There was no room for him in the inn and he had to flee into exile.

 

At the end of the last century, the end of the second millennium, we reflected on what a violent century we had just come through. We hoped for a new beginning, a new justice, a new peace. These last few months have harshly reminded us that there is still much violence and much suffering in the world. What does the message of Christmas say to this? Are our hopes for a better world now shattered beyond recovery? Let us come this year to Bethlehem, to the Manger, with hearts made more sensitive to the presence of evil in the world.

 

As we kneel before the Manger, let us remember the Cross. We remember the Cross, however, not as the victory of evil, but as the herald of the resurrection, the herald of that hope which was first enkindled in hearts at Bethlehem because “God so loved the world that he gave his only Son”. This Christmas, let us pray earnestly that all human hearts will be liberated from false images of God. The message of Christmas is that it is only in God’s gift of the Son that we can see the truth of God. Jesus was born in the cave at Bethlehem and was crucified on the cross at Calvary to teach us that God is love (1 Jn. 4:8, 16). Only love can give meaning to our lives in the midst of suffering and evil.

 

Let us pray, “Lord God, deepen our faith, strengthen our hope, enkindle our love: and so that we may obtain what you promise make us love what you command. We make our prayer through Christ our Lord. Amen”. (Collect of the 30 Sunday of the Year)

 

+ John Baptist Cardinal Wu
The Bishop of Hong Kong
Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception 2001

[Published in Sunday Examiner, 23 December 2001]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

聖誕節

主內親愛的兄弟姊妹:

主已來臨,普世歡騰!謹祝大家聖誕歡樂!怎能歡樂?「天主竟這樣愛了世界,甚至賜下了自己的獨生子……天主沒有派遣子到世界上來審判世界,而是為叫世界藉著祂而獲救」(若.三:16-17)。這是我們歡樂的因由。

 

最近發生的連串事件和世界現況,可能使人質疑天主的慈愛,易把錯誤的形象,套在天主身上。舊約屢以暴力形像,描繪天主,今人也不倖免。

 

其實,十誡的第一誡,就把我們從這些錯誤的形象中,解救出來:禁止我們雕刻天主的形象,崇拜天主的偶像。我們如果切實遵守這些啟示,就會以更清的思想,更大的愛心,去默觀體驗人生的神聖和奧秘。

 

天主的奧秘,只透過天主自己唯一的真像,啟示給我們。這個真像,就是耶穌,因為耶穌就是「不可見的天主的肖像」(哥.一:15),是天主賜予我們的禮物。天主降生愛人,成了血肉,居我人間。教會是耶穌的奧體,我們與祂結合,必能經驗祂的恩寵,擺脫錯誤的偶像,體會天主的聖意,就是彼此相愛。

 

我們以兩大慶節紀念耶穌,就是聖誕節和復活節。這兩大慶節,顯示天主愛人的兩大象徵:小馬槽和十字架。默想耶穌降生的奧蹟,面對生死的奧秘。如果心靈敏感,我們必能見到,十字架的陰影,籠罩著小馬槽,正如死亡刻劃著人生,但不能使我們絕望,對天主失望,因為死亡導向復活,正如愛情導向聖誕:「愛情猛如死亡」(歌.八:6)。

 

舊約屢以戰士,或近乎暴力,描寫天主,但依撒意亞先知,卻另有突破。將臨期和聖誕節,我們依靠這位先知,將更深入聖誕的奧蹟。先知真知灼見,在天主的默感下,領悟天主救人,不是以暴力,而是以受苦,在公開生活和逾越奧蹟,作受苦僕人,而代人受苦,即在聖誕佳節,也不例外,客棧沒有祂的地方,誕生不久,被迫逃亡。

 

在上世紀末,二千年結束時,我們回想世界度過一個暴力的世紀,期望一個新的開始,新的公義和新的和平。但是,過去數月卻殘酷無情,提醒我們,世上仍有許多暴力和痛苦。今年聖誕佳節帶來什麼訊息呢?更美好世界的希望,是否變成破碎的夢想呢?讓我們往白冷去,到馬槽前,認罪悔過。

 

跪在馬槽前,想起十字架,不是因為它戰勝罪惡,而是因為它宣告復活,灼熱心靈,燃點希望,因為「天主竟這樣愛了世界,甚至賜下了自己的獨生子」。在這聖誕節,讓我們懇切祈禱,願人心皆能破除天主錯誤的形象,只在天主的兒子身上,找到天主的真理。耶穌在白冷的山洞誕生,在加爾瓦略山上釘死,教導我們,天主是愛(若一.四:8, 16);只有愛才能在痛苦和罪惡中,使我們活得有意義。

 

讓我們同禱:「全能永生的天主,求你堅定我們的信德,加強我們的望德,激發我們的愛德,使我們愛慕遵守你的誡命,獲得恩許。因你的聖子、我們的主耶穌基督,祂和你及聖神,是唯一天主,永生永王。亞孟。」(常年期三十主日集禱經)

 

香港教區主教
胡振中樞機
二零零一年聖母無玷始胎節

[2001年12月23日公教報刊登]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply