• By: davc
  • Categories:

CHANCERY NOTICE


 

I. ST. PETER’S PENCE COLLECTION

In view of the Covid-19 pandemic, this collection, which is held annually on the third Sunday of January in support of the Holy Father in his manifold services to the universal Church, is postponed until further notice.

II. WEEK OF PRAYER FOR CHRISTIAN UNITY           

In view of the Covid-19 pandemic, the coming Week of Prayer for Christian Unity, originally scheduled to be held from 18 January to 25 January 2021, will be postponed to 18-25 May 2021.  Details will be announced in due course.

III. SUNDAY OF THE WORD OF GOD  

Pope Francis, in his Apostolic Letter, Aperuit Illis (30 September 2019), instituted the Third Sunday in Ordinary Time of every year as the Sunday of the Word of God, to be devoted to the celebration, study and dissemination of the Word of God.  On this occasion, the proper liturgical texts of the Third Sunday in Ordinary Time are to be adopted.

In the Apostolic Letter, the Holy Father highlighted the following points —

  • 1. Just as Jesus, our Risen Lord, had accompanied two disciples on their way to Emmaus, “opening their minds to understand the Scriptures” and nourishing them with His Body as the “Bread of Life” (cf. Lk 24: 13-35), so he will accompany the faithful on their pilgrimage to their heavenly goal and sustain them with the same spiritual nourishments.

  • 2. Being incorporated into the liturgy of the Church (especially the Eucharist), the Word of God has an intimate link with the liturgy. “The Church has always venerated the divine Scriptures just as she venerates the Body of the Lord.” (Dei Verbum, 21)

  • 3. The Scriptures, as written records of the Word of God, and the sacred Tradition (witness to the faith under different circumstances) of the Church handed down from one generation to the next, make up one single source of God’s Revelation (cf. Dei Verbum, 9-10). “The Scriptures and the sacred Tradition of the Church are the supreme rule of her faith” (Dei Verbum, 21) and the foundations of Christian spirituality (cf. 2Tim 3:16).

  • 4. Jerome, Doctor of the Church, had taught us: “Ignorance of the Scriptures is ignorance of Christ”. Without the Scriptures, the events of the mission of Jesus and of His Church would remain incomprehensible.   

  • 5. By setting aside “a Sunday given over entirely to the Word of God”, we can better appreciate the inexhaustible riches contained in that constant, day-to-day dialogue between the Lord and His People” during their earthly pilgrimage.

  • 6. It is fitting for the faithful to spare some time every day to mediate on the Scriptures with the enlightenment of the Holy Spirit. They should also give importance to the readings of daily Masses and promote the Lectio Divina.  The Word of God has relevance for all ages and circumstances; a Christian can always receive enlightenment from the Word of God.

  • 7. It is fitting to set aside the Third Sunday in Ordinary Time every year for a special celebration focusing in the Word of God, since it is the time when the Catholic Church and other Christian Churches and Ecclesial Communities pray in a special way for Christian unity, and since it is also a time when the Catholic Church strengthens her bonds with the Jewish people. The Scriptures point out, for those who listen, the path to authentic and firm unity.

         Given at the Chancery Office,

28 December 2020.

Rev. Lawrence LEE

Chancellor

  • By: davc
  • By: davc

香港教區主教公署

秘書長辦公處通告


一、 為宗座募捐

為支援教宗對普世教會的多種服務,堂區於每年一月第三主日都舉行募捐。基於新型冠狀病毒病疫情,今年的募捐將延遲,直至另行通告。

二、基督徒合一祈禱週

基於新型冠狀病毒病疫情,原定於二〇二一年一月十八日至二十五日舉行的基督徒合一祈禱週,將延遲至明年五月十八日至二十五日。詳情另行公布。

三、天主聖言主日

教宗方濟各於二〇一九年九月三十日發表《開啟他們的明悟》宗座信函,定每年常年期第三主日為「天主聖言主日」,以特別慶祝聖道禮、研讀聖言及傳播聖言。當日聖祭禮儀應採用常年期第三主日的本有禱文及讀經。

在上述信函,教宗特別強調以下幾點—

1)        正如主耶穌復活後遇到並陪同兩位門徒前往厄瑪烏,並「開啟他們的明悟,叫他們理解新舊約經書」(參閱 路24:13-35),同樣,復活的救主常伴隨信徒走現世旅途;祂同樣以「永生之言」和「永生之糧」滋養信友。

2)        教會把天主聖言納入禮儀(尤其聖祭)中,正好突顯出它與禮儀的密切關係。「教會常常尊崇聖言(聖經),如同尊崇聖體一樣。」(參閱《啟示憲章》21)

3)        以文字紀錄在聖經上的天主聖言,以及聖傳,即教會歷代相傳、在具體生活上的信仰見證,構成天主啟示獨一無二的泉源(參閱《啟示憲章》9-10)。聖經和聖傳,是教會信德的最高準繩(參閱《啟示憲章》21),而這兩者也是信友的神修基礎(參閱 弟後3:16)。

4)      一如教會聖師聖熱羅尼莫指出:「誰不認識聖經,就不認識基督」;因爲不依據聖經,我們就難以理解主耶穌與他的教會在世上的使命。

5)        指定一個以天主聖言為主題的主日,有助信友體驗天主與祂在現世的子民毫不間斷和滿溢美善的對話。

6)        天主聖言是萬古常新的,為任何時代、任何環境和任何信友都能帶來光照啟發。信友宜每日抽空,在聖神光照下去反省天主聖言。他們也應重視每日聖祭禮儀中的聖道禮,而且也應推廣「誦讀聖言」(Lectio Divina)。

7)        在每年的常年期第三主日舉行以天主聖言為焦點的主日,是合適的,因為每年在這時期,天主教會與其他基督教宗派特別為基督的合一祈禱;而且在這時期,天主教會也與猶太人加強彼此的聯繫。聖經為一切聆聽者指出真正而穩固的合一之途。

特此公告

秘書長

李亮 司鐸

二〇二〇年十二月二十八日

  • By: davc
  • By: davc