Summary of the Pastoral Letter


 

Cardinal John Tong, our Apostolic Administrator, made public a Pastoral Letter, entitled In Communion with the Church, on 21 September. 

In the Pastoral Letter, the Cardinal encourages the faithful to hold firm to their faith in these times of trials and hardships, recognizing that God, the Lord of human history, will ultimately turn their sufferings into a blessing.

The Cardinal acknowledges that the social unrest last year and the Covid-19 pandemic this year will pose new challenges to our evangelizing mission, and for this reason the faithful should entrust themselves to God and be well prepared.

The Cardinal considers the protesters last year as justified in demanding the government to address some key issues related to justice, democracy and the quality of life.  Regrettably, the protests later gave rise to mutual hatred, smearing and animosity among opposing camps.

The Cardinal exhorts the faithful to follow the social teaching of the Church attaining the reforms and well-being of society.  Treating others as “enemies” to be fought against is inconsistent with the Christian faith.  The faithful can have different stances on social and political issues, but they must avoid causing a division in the Church because of those differences.  Even in exercising their rights, the faithful are to take into account the communion and common good of the Church.

The Cardinal reiterates the support of the Church for democracy as a form of governance, but he emphasizes that the attainment of democracy is an “ongoing process” which calls for perseverance and sustained efforts.

As for priests, they should enlighten the faithful with the social teaching of the Church and form their consciences, refraining, however, from exerting their influence in the social concern activities of the faithful.

The Church treasures the supernatural “sense of faith” on the part of the faithful.  Accordingly, priests should be ready to listen to the faithful.  Nevertheless, when the faithful challenge the Church or even slander Church leaders, they are setting a bad example and causing a division in the Church.

Lastly, the Cardinal calls on the faithful “to put an unwavering hope in Jesus Christ” and to turn to God for His unfailing help.  While there is room for a “diversity” in Church life, the faithful must maintain the communion of the Church.

********

–Pastoral Letter In Communion With The Church

–Prayer for Hong Kong Society and the Church

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • By: davc
  • By: davc

《牧函》撮要


宗座署理湯漢樞機九月二十一日發表《與教會保持共融》牧函。

在牧函中,樞機勉勵教友在目前充滿挑戰的時刻,堅守信仰,明認天主乃人類主宰,深信一切逆境最終會化為祝福。去年的社會事件和今年的新型冠狀病毒疫情,將對福傳工作帶來新挑戰,教友要信靠天主,做好準備。

在去年的社會事件中,社會大眾為尋求正義、民主和生活質素而要求政府採取行動,是合情合理的。 可惜,其後事件導致不同陣營彼此「仇恨」、抹黑、排斥。

樞機勸勉教友在追求社會改革和福祉時,應依循天主教社會訓導的教誨。把他人視作「敵人」來對抗,並不符合基督信仰。教友不要因觀點不同而分化教會,而他們在行使自己的權利時,也要顧全教會的共融和公益。

教會一向支持以民主作為管治制度,但「這是一個持續過程,需要人們緩慢而沉穩地奮鬥。」

至於司鐸,應以天主教社會訓導啟迪教友,培育他們的良知;然而,司鐸不應在教友的關社行動上加諸任何影響。


教會重視教友的「信仰意識」,因此司鐸要樂意聆聽教友,但若教友挑戰教會,甚至誹謗教會領袖,則樹立惡表和引致教會分裂。

最後,樞機「呼籲教友要對耶穌基督抱有堅定不移的希望」,在生活中信靠天主。教會生活是多元化的,但教友要極力維護教會的共融合一。這樣,教友在生命中面對的挑戰,最終會化為祝福!

********

–牧函與教會保持共融

–為香港社會及教會禱文

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • By: davc
  • By: davc