• By: davc
  • Categories:

Pastoral Letter of The Year of St. Paul


God, in many and various ways, continuously gives us abundant gifts. The “Year of St. Paul” is yet another wonderful gift. Some people may query: The Diocese has launched the second “Year of the Family”, is not the “Year of St. Paul” confusing? Certainly not. The Pastoral objective of the Diocese is to give us a general orientation for our activities, and the teaching of St. Paul can precisely help us to specify better the objective and give us impetus to achieve it.

An article in the Osservatore Romano by an Italian Archbishop has inspired me.? He has written to explain the text of the Letter to the Ephesians, chapter 4, verse 20. St. Paul said, “You did not so learn Christ!” The Ephesians lived among the pagans and the latter culture is very different from that of the Christian.


In the previous three verses Paul said, “Now this I affirm and testify in the alord, that you must no longer live as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their minds; they are darkened in their understanding……they have become callous and have given themselves up to licentiousness, greedy to practice every kind of uncleanness.”

 

In the Letter to the Romans, chapter 1, Paul said, referring to those who did not know God, “They became futile in their thinking and their senseless minds were darkened. Therefore God gave them up to the lusts of their hearts to impurity, to the dishonouring of their bodies among themselves” (Rom 1:21,24). In fact the Chosen People were not much better. In Matthew 19:8 Jesus said that Moses allowed them to divorce their wives due to their “hardness of heart”.

 

The documents of the Hong Kong Diocesan Synod which took place during 2000-2001, have this to say, “The traditional concepts about love and sex have become more vague, while premarital sex, cohabitation and trial marriages have become more socially acceptable. According to a survey of young people, 75% of students were not opposed to premarital sex.”

 

In a report by the Hong Kong Catholic Marriage Advisory Council in December 2000: The number of divorce cases has increased from 7,735 in 1994 to 13,048 in 2000. It has increased 68.7%. The number of divorce-remarriage cases has increased from 5,309 in 1994 to 6,631 in 2000. It has increased 24.9%.

 

“Since the general public do not take the moral values related to sex and human life seriously, the problems that follow, such as abortion, have become rather serious.”

How about Catholics? “The ‘Sunday Catholics’ and those who have distanced themselves from the Church, hold values similar to the other people in Hong Kong.” “Even the Catholics who still maintain a relationship with the Church or who are steadfast in their faith, will be influenced to a lesser or greater degree by the wide-spread, prevailing ideas in Hong Kong. Therefore, to a certain extent, Catholics encounter a variety of marriage and family problems that are common in Hong Kong.

 

The Diocese launched the “Year of the Family” because the vision of the Hong Kong society regarding the family and marriage is often in opposition to the plan of God. The conclusion of the Diocesan Synod on Marriage and Family: “In the face of these negative phenomena, we have even greater responsibilities to equip for remoulding the family: strengthening marital relationships through formation, and lending our support to the rebuilding of broken family and interpersonal relationships.” How easier it is to talk about it than to do it!

 

The state of mind of many Catholics is described by Paul in the letter to the Romans: “For I delight in the law of God, in my inmost self, but I see in my members another law at war with the law of my mind, and making me captive to the law of sin which dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?” (Rom 7:22-24)

 

The answer of Paul is resounding: “Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!” (Rom 7:25) If our Year of the Family is to be successful we have to “Learn Christ”!

 

The Letter to the Ephesians analyses how to “Learn Christ”:

 

1. To hear about him and to be taught in him. (Eph 4:21)

2. To put into practice what you have heard. “Put off your old nature of which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful lusts, and be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and put on the new nature, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness.” (Eph 4:22-24)

 

We hear Christ through the Bible and the living Tradition, the examples of the Saints. The letters of Paul are among the treasure of this teaching.

 

“Do you not know that you are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in you? If any one destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him. For God’s temple is holy, and that temple you are.” (I Co 3:16-17)

 

“I appeal to you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that you may prove what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” (Rom 12;1-2)

 

“Do not be mismated with unbelievers. For what partnership have righteousmess and iniquity? Or what fellowship has light with darkness? ……We are the temple of the living God……, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from every defilement of body and spirit, and make holiness perfect in the fear of God.” (II Co 6:14,16; 7:1)

 

“Set your minds on things that are above, and not on things that are on earth……Put to death therefore what is earthly in you: immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness which is idolatry. On account of these the wrath of God is coming.” (Col 3:2, 5-6)

 

3. Actually, nobody can learn Christ unless Christ gives Himself to him.

 

On the road to Damascus Christ appeared to Saul, made him “see” and made him “filled with the Holy Spirit”. (Act 9:17) At baptism we have received Christ and the Holy Spirit.

 

Since we have been “chosen” as Paul had been, we should also “suffer much” for the sake of the Lord’s name. (cf. Act 9:16) But it is not we who have to bear with this. It is Christ who lives in us (Gal 2:20) and gives us the strength.

 

Of course our cooperation is necessary because we have the formidable power to fail the Holy Spirit. St. Paul said, “Do not grieve the Holy Spirit.” (Eph 4:30)

 

Dear brothers and sisters, in this Year of St. Paul, let us cooperate with the Holy Spirit. The fruits of the Holy Spirit are not just renunciation. It is also joy and peace. (Gal 5:22) Is this not in fact heaven?

+ Joseph Card. Zen

Leave a Reply

• By: davc
  • Categories:

保禄年主教牧函


天主不断,以不同方式,丰富地给我们恩宠,“保禄年”又是一个大恩宠。有人会质疑:本教区不是正在进行第二个家庭年吗?这个“保禄年”岂不使我们乱了阵脚?绝对不会。教区的牧民目标是一个行动的大方向,圣保禄的训诲正能帮助我们更确定这方向,并给我们强大的动力。

一位意大利的总主教在罗马观察报上的一篇文章给了我灵感。他解释厄弗所人书第四章第廿节。保禄说:“你们却不是这样学了基督。”厄弗所的教友生活在外教人的文化中,这文化与基督徒的信仰有很大的距离。

就在之前的三节里保禄说:“我苦劝你们生活不要再像外邦人,顺随自己的虚妄思念而生活;他们的理智受了蒙蔽……这样的人既已麻木,便纵情恣欲,贪行各种不洁。”

 

在罗马人书第一章保禄也说:那些不认天主的人“他们所思所想的,成了荒谬绝伦的;他们冥顽不灵的心陷入了黑暗;……因此天主任凭他们随从心中的情欲陷于不洁,以致彼此玷辱自己的身体”(罗1:21, 24)。其实天主特选的民族也好不了多少,玛窦福音19:8耶稣说:梅瑟为了他们的“心硬”才准许他们休妻。

在2000年至2001举行的教区会议文献中这样描写香港现况:“传统的男女关系及性观念渐趋模糊,婚前性行为、同居、试婚等行为较为社会所接受。一项青少年调查显示,75%学生不反对婚前性行为”。

 

2000年12月公教婚姻辅导会一项报告指出:离婚数字在1994年2000年间由7,735宗上升至68.7%至13,048宗;再婚数字的上升,由1994年的5,309宗加增24.9%至2000年的6,631宗。

“由于社会上对性观念普遍不认真及对生命轻视,随之而衍生的问题,例如堕胎,也颇严重”。

 

天主教教徒呢?“‘主日教友’及其他与教会疏离的教友,事实上其价值观与香港一般人士相去不远”。“至于与教会仍然保持关系或信德稳固的教友,其情况或多或少亦会受香港普遍的意识观念所冲击,某程度上香港社会一般的婚姻及家庭问题亦会出现在天主教教友身上”。

 

本教区推行第二个家庭年正因为香港社会里对婚姻、家庭的观念与天主的计划背道而驰。教区会议的结论是:“面对这些负面的现象,我们有责任积极整装上路,重塑家庭:透过培育,巩固婚姻关系;透过支援,重建破裂的家庭和人际关系。”但谈何容易!

 

不少教友的心态大概是保禄在罗马人书所描写的:“照我的内心,我是喜悦天主的法律;可是,我发觉在我的肢体内,另有一条法律与我理智所赞同的法律交战,并把我掳去,叫我隶属于那在我肢体内的罪恶的法律。我这个人真不幸呀!谁能救我脱离这该死的肉身呢?(罗7:22-24)

保禄的答案非常响亮:“感谢天主,藉着我们的主耶稣基督!”(罗7:25),我们的家庭年要成功就必须认真“学基督”!

厄弗所人书分析怎样“学基督”。

(一) 真听过他,在他内受过教。(弗4:21)

(二) 听了也要照做。“该脱去你们照从前生活的旧人,就是因顺从享乐的欲念而败坏的旧人,应在心思念虑上改换一新,穿上新人,就是按照天主的肖像所造,具有真实的正义和圣善的新人”(弗4:22-24)

 

我们听基督当然是经过圣经及生活的传统,圣人的榜样。保禄的书信也是这训诲的宝库。

 

“你们不知道,你们是天主的宫殿,天主圣神住在你们内吗?谁若毁坏天主的宫殿,天主必要毁坏他,因为天主的宫殿是圣的,这宫殿就是你们。”(格前3:16-17)

“我请求你们献上你的身体当作生活、圣洁和悦乐天主的祭品,这才是你们合理的敬礼。你们不可与此世同化,反而应以更新的心思变化自己,为使你们能辨别甚么是天主的旨意,甚么是善事,甚么是悦乐天主的事,甚么是成全的事。(罗12:1-2)

“你们不要与不信的人共负一轭,因为正义与不法之间,那能有甚么相通?或者,光明之于黑暗,那能有甚么联系?……我们就是生活的天主的殿……亲爱的!我们当洁净自己,除去肉体和心灵上的一切玷污,以敬畏天主之情来成就圣德。”(格后6:14, 16; 7:1)

 

“你们该思念天上的事,不该思念地上的事,……你们要致死属于地上的肢体,致死淫乱,不洁、邪情、恶欲和无异于偶像崇拜的贪婪,为了这一切,天主的义怒才降在悖逆之子身上。”(哥3:2, 5, 6)

 

(三) 其实没有人能学基督,除非基督把祂自己赐给他。

 

基督在往大马士革的路上把自己显示给了扫禄,叫他“看见”叫他“充满圣神”(宗9:17)。我们在圣洗中领受了基督,领受了圣神。

我们既如扫禄一样被主“拣选了”,我们为主的名字也该“受许多苦”(参阅宗9:16),但已不是我们自己去担当,基督在我们内生活 (迦2:20),给我们力量。

当然,我们的合作还是需要的,因为我们有那可怕的能力,让圣神失败。圣保禄说:“你们不要叫天主的圣神忧郁”。(弗4:30)

各位兄弟姊妹,让我们在这保禄年内常和圣神合作,因为圣神的果实:不祇是节制,也是喜乐与平安 (迦5:22),这不就是人间天堂吗?

陈日君枢机

Leave a Reply