• By: davc
  • Categories:

An Easter message 2019
This is the day which Yahweh has made, a day for us to rejoice (Psalm 118.24)


Dear Brothers and Sisters in the Lord:

May the Resurrected Lord bestow his peace and joy upon you!

Thank God for giving us over two or three thousand adult candidates to be baptized as Catholics each year. And this year is no different. This year we have 2,800 new members receiving Baptism, entering the great family of the Church and sharing the joy of the faith. New strength is added to the team of preachers of the Gospel. On behalf of the diocese, I would like to offer them our sincere warm welcome, and thank our catechists and catechism guides who accompany them in the pursuit of faith.

Dear new Catholics: God loves you unconditionally. He showed this firstly by choosing you to become His sons and daughters by receiving the Sacrament of Initiation, and by bestowing His saving grace upon you. You have only to think back on your path to conversion. You most likely felt the warmth and patience of God’s great love. He was like a merciful Father. He never pressured you. He appeared in your lives by continually using other persons, like family members, good friends, and co-workers, or by using certain events in your lives, to call you to open your hearts, so that through your personal experience you could feel his merciful love. Then when you were completely ready, He led you to participate in the catechism class. Then through the teachings of the catechists and guides, and through your reading of the Bible, step by step, you gradually and more deeply came to know Who God and Jesus are. You came to know how God loves each one of you. I think that that year and a half spent in the catechism class were very precious moments for each one of you.

Dear brothers and sisters: Every year, when several thousand new Christians are baptized and enter the Church, we can think back to the situation of the early Christians as described in the Acts of the Apostles, Chapter 2, verses 42 to 47. Three points described there are worthy of our attention, for they help us to understand how to live a holy Christian life:

The first point is that the early Christians “devoted themselves to the teaching of the Apostles.” The teaching of the Apostles was the “catechesis” of the newly baptized at that time. I sincerely invite both new and old Catholics, beginning now, to take time each day to read the Bible. By doing this, we will more thoroughly understand Jesus Christ, and learn Christ’s unselfish love. We will leave behind our own selfish thinking, and let God’s Holy Word water our hearts. In the midst of our lives, this will help us to love God, and to love both the people we know and the people we do not know. It will help us to become a person full of compassion and humility. Moreover, the Bible records the teachings of Jesus. This can serve as a guide throughout our lives. It will help us to never stray from God’s path, by becoming completely secular. It will help us to become true Christians.

The second point is that the Christians of the early Church “were devoted to living a communal life, to the breaking of the bread and to prayer.” I believe that the catechists and the guides in the catechism class, when they were teaching, clearly explained to you the meaning and the importance of the Eucharist, the sacrament of communion, and that participation in Sunday Mass is the source and foundation of the Christian life. Therefore I strongly encourage you to participate in the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass on every Sunday and Holy Day of Obligation. At the same time we learn from the Bible that Jesus was always praying. Prayer not only helps us to maintain a close relationship with our heavenly Father, we can also pray for the whole world and all the people in it. In the Gospels Jesus taught us how to pray. First of all, we look for a suitable place, which will allow us to address our heavenly Father. It is not necessary to say things over and over. Only be thankful, and forgive others from the heart. After prayer, Jesus was full of faith and strength. May we realize that when we pray, God will also give us the faith and strength to lead a holy life. Today the situation of life in Hong Kong is more tense. However, I fervently invite everyone to take time out each day for prayer. Let us not forget this good habit for being a good Christian.

The third point is that the early Christians led a life of charitable service. Jesus Himself also carried out works of charity, especially to those in need and to the weak ones in society. As Christians, you also, like Jesus, must have a compassionate heart, and peacefully, humbly and generously practice charity by serving others. Charitable service not only builds community within the Church, it spreads to our families and to other brothers and sisters we meet in our daily lives. Now many parishes have set up a Social Concern Group. Every Catholic is encouraged to join such a group to carry out practical service to needy persons in society. This year also marks the continuation of the Year of Youth. All the faithful are hoped to show concern and give support to the youngsters in their faith activities, and help them discern the calls of the Lord. Certainly, we should care for the mainland and the Church in China; and pray for the Universal Church in facing the challenges in the new era.

Lastly, I encourage all Catholics, in accordance with each one’s charism and talent, to join a parish group. You will not only encourage one another in the group, but your own faith will deepen. You will be working with the pastor and members of your parish to build up a community full of love and mutual support. The whole parish can become a united force for preaching the Gospel, and bringing faith and hope to our society and to humankind.
May our heavenly Mother Mary protect each Catholic, and help us to become Catholics, who are full of life and love.
Happy Easter, alleluia! May God bless you and keep you!

+ John Cardinal Tong
7 April 2019, Fifth Sunday of Lent


PDF Document 

  • By: davc
  • By: hkcsco

• By: davc
  • Categories:

宗座署理汤汉枢机2019年复活节牧函

「这是上主所安排的一天,我们应该为此鼓舞喜欢。」(咏118:24)


主内亲爱的弟兄姊妹:

愿复活的主赐给你们平安与喜乐!

天主赏赐给香港教区每年复活节均有二千多至三千多的成年兄弟姊妹领洗,而今年也不例外,我们共有二千八百多位新教友加入了天主教大家庭,分享信仰的喜悦,并为传扬福音增添力量。谨代表教区,向新教友致以衷心的欢迎,也向有关的传道员和导师,献上至深的谢忱。

各位新教友:天主首先无条件地爱了你们,拣选你们藉入门圣事成为祂的子女,分沾救恩的恩宠。你们试回想自己的皈依过程,便能感受到天主的慈爱是多麽温柔及富有耐性,就好像一位慈父,祂从来没有强迫你们,只是在生命中,不断透过很多人物,例如家人丶好朋友丶同事等,或者是透过不同的事件作为媒介,召叫你们,造就很多机会打开你们的心扉,让你们亲身经验和感受到祂的慈爱。直到准备好的时候,祂便引领你们追求信仰,藉着传道员及导师等有系统的教授,并透过阅读圣经使你们逐渐加深认识天主及耶稣基督,经验天主的爱。相信一年半的慕道期,可说是你们人生中极珍贵的阶段。

各位主内的弟兄姊妹:当每年有数千人领洗时,我便想起《宗徒大事录》第二章42节至47节所描述初期教会的情境,其中有三个重点值得新教友和所有信众仿效:

第一点,初期教会成员「专心听取宗徒的训诲」。当日的宗徒训诲实在相符於我们今日的「教理讲授」,我诚心邀请各位教友从现在开始,每日抽时间阅读《圣经》,这样才能透彻地明白耶稣基督,学习基督无私的爱,走出自我中心的思维,并且让圣言滋润我们的心田,推动我们在生活中爱天主,爱认识的人,也爱不认识的人,成为一个充满怜悯及谦卑的人。此外,《圣经》记载了耶稣的教诲,可作为日常生活的指南针,加强信德,走天主的道路,成为真正的基督徒。

第二点,初期教会成员「时常团聚丶擘饼丶祈祷」。我相信传道员及慕道团导师已在新教友的慕道期,清楚解释感恩祭的意义,尤其是参与主日感恩祭是基督徒生活的泉源及根基。所以,我恳切劝勉所有教友守瞻礼节日,即在主日及当守的法定节日参与感恩祭。另一方面,我们从《圣经》记载中得知耶稣时常祈祷,除与天父保持亲密联系外,也为世界和人类祈祷。耶稣在福音中教导了我们怎样祈祷,首先是找一处合适的地方,怀着信德向天父祷告,不用唠叨,却要感恩,并从心里寛恕他人。耶稣在祈祷後充满了信心和力量,让我们祈祷时,知道天父赐予我们所需要的信心和力量,善度信仰生活。虽然现时香港的生活节奏日益急促,但我仍然诚切邀请大家每天抽出时间祈祷,使之成为每位基督徒的良好习惯。

第三点,初期教会成员履行爱德服务。耶稣时常行爱德,尤其照顾有需要的人及社会的弱势社群。我们是基督徒,也要像耶稣一样怀着怜悯丶和蔼与谦恭态度,大方地服务他人。爱德的服务要求我们,除了在教会内一起建设共融的信友团体,也包括在家庭及在个人的日常生活中服务其他人。现时已有多个堂区成立了关社组,大家可透过加入这些小组或参与关社组举办的活动。今年既是教区所继续推动的青年年,希望所有教友都关心及支持有关青年的信仰活动,协助他们分辨上主的召叫。当然,我们亦应常关心祖国及为中国教会祈祷,也为面对新时代挑战的普世教会祈祷。

最後,我鼓励各位新教友根据个人的神恩加入堂区的善会或小组,在团体中彼此学习和支持,俾信仰得以茁壮成长,并与堂区司铎及教友携手建设一个充满仁爱及共融的团体,与整个教区一起传扬福音,将和平及希望带给我们的社会及全人类。

愿天上的慈母玛利亚保守每位教友,助佑我们成为充满活力及仁爱的基督徒。

复活节快乐,亚肋路亚!天主保佑!

+汤汉枢机

二零一九年四月七日

四旬期第五主日


PDF 文件下载

  • By: davc
  • By: hkcsco