PASTORAL LETTER

In Communion with the Church


 

Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ,

With pastoral solicitude, I wish to share with you some grave concerns of mine about our Local Church in the light of the “signs of the times”.

There is no denying that the social turmoil that rocked Hong Kong last year has brought home to us some of its deep-rooted problems which have long remained unresolved.  The public are fully justified in expecting the local government to take action promptly to address their aspirations for justice, democracy and a more decent quality of life. 

Nevertheless, looking back at that social turmoil, we cannot but acknowledge that it has also brought along some serious consequences.  One of these is the “hatred” of some sectors of the public towards those who do not share their stances or endorse their actions in regard to socio-political reforms.  Moreover, there is a growing conviction among our local people that there will be no hope nor prospect for Hong Kong society in the future.  Regrettably these negative attitudes have also found their way into Church circles.  

Concurring with the mentality of some groups which either supported or opposed the public protests last year, not a few Catholics have adopted, in whole or in part, the following stances: (i) In striving for the well-being of society, the end justifies the means, and so violence may be justified.  (ii) An action is either entirely right or entirely wrong, and there could not be any “in between ”.  (iii) Those who do not share their stance or endorse their actions in regard to social or political issues are to be openly condemned, smeared and rejected, without any possibility of dialogue or reconciliation with them. 

Holding on to the above stances with tenacity, those Catholics have created a division in our Diocese.  Furthermore, just as it is commonplace now for people to use abusive and slanderous languages on social media against those from the opposing camps, we find some Catholics behaving in the same way in dealing with those who do not share their stance or approve their actions, be they Church leaders, priests, deacons, or other Church members.

In examining the rather wide-spread mentality among the faithful as mentioned above, it is fitting to reiterate that the Church gives support to “democracy” as a system of governance.  This is stated explicitly in Pope St. John Paul II’s Encyclical Centesimus Annus: “The Church values the democratic system inasmuch as it ensures the participation of citizens in making political choices, guarantees to the governed the possibility both of electing and holding accountable those who govern them, and of replacing them through peaceful means when appropriate.” (46)  As for Pope Francis, he has pointed out, in his Apostolic Exhortation, Evangelii Gaudium (cf. 220-223), that the progress in building a people in peace, justice and fraternity can be achieved by committed and responsible citizens.  However, such a progress is an “ongoing process” which demands that people work slowly but surely, without being obsessed with immediate results.

In contributing to building a society of peace, justice and fraternity, we have a twofold role to play as “prophet” and “servant”: we have to discern the “signs of the times”, and we have to act like the salt of the earth, the light of the world and the yeast of human society.  In our endeavours for socio-political reforms and the well-being of society, we should be guided by the social teaching of the Church.  We must, above all, put into practice what Jesus teaches in the Beatitudes and in the Sermon on the Mount.  Thus we must realize that treating others as “enemies” to be hated and fought against is inconsistent with the Christian faith.  The social teaching of the Church has never endorsed hatred and violence as the means to achieve justice.  Christ crucified has set an example for all Christians to follow: whatever might be the conflicts that have to be resolved, love, forgiveness and reconciliation must always prevail, if justice and peace are to be achieved. “The end does not justify the means”.

As pastors, priests should enlighten the faithful and form their consciences with the social teaching of the Church, so that they can adopt a balanced approach and take the right course of action while engaging themselves in social concern activities.  Priests, however, should not exert their influence in those areas.  Every member of the faithful is free to adopt a stance in regard to social or political issues by following the dictates of his/her conscience and in the light of the Gospel and the social teaching of the Church.  Naturally, as among common people, there will be different views even among the faithful, granted that social and political issues are often complex and do not admit of simple or ready answers.  Nevertheless, differences in viewpoints must not give way to a division in the Church.  We must bear in mind the teaching of Vatican II that all the faithful are to strive to preserve Church communion, and they are to take account of the common good of the Church even when exercising their own rights.

Today there are Catholics who claim they have the “right” to openly challenge their pastors and the Church.  In fact, these Catholics have a misconception of their “right” as lay people.  Vatican II indeed exhorts pastors to be open-minded and ready to listen to the views of the lay people.  Moreover, pastors should encourage the lay people to take an active part in the Church and in society.  On the other hand, the same Council equally emphasizes that lay people are to obey and duly respect their pastors who, by reason of their sacred offices, represent the person of Christ (cf. Lumen Gentium, 37 ).  Catholics who arrogantly challenge or criticize the Church, or even slander Church leaders, are simply setting a bad example and creating a split in the Church.  Only by preserving their communion with the Hierarchy can Catholics truly manifest the “sense of faith” (“sensus fidelium”) as advocated by Vatican II (cf. Lumen Gentium, 12).

Let us now turn our attention to those Catholics who, like many local people, bear a gloomy outlook about the future of Hong Kong. They have based their views on the uncertainties about the rule of law and the political reform, and the almost unbearable impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic on our local economy and livelihood.  I earnestly call on these Catholics to place an unwavering hope in Jesus Christ, who is the Lord of human history (cf. Gaudium et Spes, 10) and our close companion on our earthly pilgrimage.

Last but not least, there are those Catholics who are suffering from stress or psychological depression as repercussions of the recent social turmoil and the current pandemic.  Often the condition of these Catholics may result from a weak and vacillating faith.  We should help them to realize that, apart from counselling service and other therapies, healing for them calls for a rekindling of their faith in God.

My dear Brothers and Sisters, I would like to conclude my sharing with a few words of encouragement for you: The present time, stressful and burdensome as it may appear, could, after all, turn out to be a blessing for us, since it can make us more deeply aware of God as the key to our human destiny, of the need for a stronger sense of solidarity among members of the human family, and of the significance of maintaining Church communion, though allowing for a “diversity” in Church life.

The social turmoil last year and the current pandemic have made great impacts on Hong Kong, and we can foresee new challenges to our evangelising mission in the years to come.  Therefore, entrusting ourselves to our Lord’s fatherly care and with one mind and one heart, let us equip ourselves for the mission ahead.

In union of prayer,

  + Cardinal John Tong

  Apostolic Administrator of Hong Kong

21 September 2020, Feast of St. Matthew the Apostle

******** 

Commentary on the Theme of the Pastoral Letter: What is meant by Communion?

According to the New Testament, especially the Letters of St. Paul, the Church on the People of God has three distinctive marks, namely, Witnessing (Martyrion), Ministry (Diakonia) and Communion or Fellowship (Koinōnia).  Communion is a very important concept in the ecclesiology of the Second Vatican Council (1962-65).  On the basis of the Conciliar documents [the respective Constitutions or Decrees on: the Church (LG), Revelation (DV), the Church Today (GS), Bishops (CD), Priests (PO), Missions (AG), Laity (AA), Ecumenism (UR) and Eastern Churches (OE)], the term Communion has the following threefold meaning:

  • (1)  Spiritual Communion or Ecclesial Communion (cf. LG4, 7b, 9b, 13a, 13c; DV10a; GS32d, 38b; PO15a; AG4, 37d, 39a; AA18a; UR2b, 7c, 14a, 15a; OE2)

At this level, Communion is directly and particularly related to the Holy Spirit.  Through and in the Holy Spirit, individual members of the faithful maintain an intimate relationship with Jesus Christ our Saviour and with the Holy Trinity, sharing the divine life and maintaining a close relationship with the whole People of God, like the cells of a living body among themselves.  This spiritual Communion or Fellowship finds expression in the profession of the same Faith, the participation in the same Sacraments (especially the Eucharist) and the close link between members of the faithful in everyday life (through a bond of charity between them, the sharing of spiritual benefits, the sharing of charisms in jointly building up the Church and contributing to the well-being of society).

  • (2)  Catholic Communion or Ecclesiastical Community (cf. LG8, 13-15; GS92c; AG22b; UR3a, 3e, 4c, 4d, 7c, 13b, 14d, 17b, 18, 19a, 20; OE4a)

At this level, Communion consists in a close union between the Dioceses or Particular Churches (Local Churches) in different parts of the world with the Diocese or Church of Rome.  This close union is fully realized in the case of members of the Catholic faithful who are considered to be fully incorporated into the unique Church of Christ.  The same union is considered to be partially realized to different extents in the other Christian Churches or Ecclesial Communities, depending on the actual condition of their doctrines, sacramental life and Church governance.

  • (3) Hierarchical Communion (cf. LG18b, 22a, 22b, 23a, 29a, Prefatory Note of Explanation; CD4a, 5, 15a; PO7a, 15b; AG38a)

Communion at this level is like the intimate relationship between a living body and its various parts or organs.  This entails the intimate link between individual members of the Catholic faithful or individual Church communities with  the “College of Bishops”.  This “College” refers to the body presided over by the Pope as the successor of St. Peter and joined by all the Bishops worldwide as successors of the other Apostles.  In carrying out His salvific plan through His Son, our Lord Jesus Christ, God has entrusted the “College of Bishops” with the task of governing the whole Church, in a collegial and co-responsible manner, with the Pope as the visible sign of the unity of the Church in professing her faith and in her mission.  Attaining Hierarchical Communion with Rome is a prerequisite for attaining “full” Ecclesiastical Communion.

Hierarchical Communion also entails the close relationship between priests and the bishop, between deacons and the bishops, and between deacons and priests.

Scripture passages related to the spirit of Communion

The Apostles, with Mary the mother of Jesus and a group of the faithful stayed together in Jerusalem and prayed with one accord in expectation of the coming of the Holy Spirit (Acts 1: 12-14); the witness given by the early Christians through their community life in Jerusalem (Acts 2:42-47); the Apostle and elders held a meeting in Jerusalem to resolve the problems relating to the conversion of the Gentiles to the Christian faith (Acts 15:1-33); the Local Churches in Asia Minor took up collections in support of the Church in Jerusalem (1 Cor 16:1-3); the fellowship of the faithful with one another (2 Cor 13:14); the fellowship of the faithful with one another and with God the Father and Jesus Christ.

********

PDF Download

— Summary of The Pastoral Letter

— Prayer for Hong Kong Society and the Church

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • By: davc
  • By: davc

牧函

与教会保持共融


主内的兄弟姊妹:

在「时代的徵兆」光照下,让我以牧者心怀,与大家分享本港教会一些令我深切关注的事项。

无可否认,去年冲击香港的社会事件,使我们能正视一些根深蒂固而长期未获解决的问题。为争取他们渴求的正义丶民主和生活质素,社会大众期望政府从速采取行动是完全合理的。

然而,回顾是次社会事件,我们不得不承认它也带来了一些非常严重的後果。其一是社会上某些群体,对那些在社会政治改革上与他们意见不合,或不赞同他们行为表现的人所产生的「仇恨」。此外,愈来愈多市民认定,香港社会的未来是没有希望和任何前景的。令人遗憾的是,这些负面的态度亦进入了教会圈子。

不少教友的心态与部分於去年支持或反对抗争活动的人士是一致的,他们或全部,或局部采取了以下的立场:一丶於争取社会福祉时,为求达到目的可以不择手段,而暴力亦可以变为合理。二丶一个行为只有完全对或完全错,并不存在中间路线。三丶那些跟他们政治立场不同,或不认同他们行为的人会被公开谴责丶抹黑及排斥,完全没有对话或修和的空间。

那些坚持上述立场的教友,在教区中造成了分化。就像现时在社交媒体上,人们对来自对立阵营的人士,常采用侮辱性和诽谤性语言,一些教友对那些与他们观点不同,或不认同他们行为的人士,不管他们是教会领袖丶司铎丶执事还是其他教会成员,也采取同样方式看待。

有鉴於上述这种心态在教友中颇为普遍,让我重申:教会一向支持以「民主」作为管治制度。教宗若望保禄二世在《百年》通谕第46节中清楚说明:「民主政制,由於能够保证人民得以参与政治抉择过程,及保证被统治的民众有机会选出向他们负责的统治者,并得在适当时以和平手段更换他们,故此获得教会相当高的评价。」而教宗方济各在他的宗座劝谕(参阅《福音的喜乐》220-223 )中则指出 ,在和平丶正义丶友爱内建立一个民族的过程,需要由有承担及责任感的公民去完成。这是一个「持续过程」,需要人们缓慢而沉稳地奋斗,而不追求即时的成果。

我们在建设一个和平丶正义与友爱的社会时,担当着「先知」及「仆人」的双重角色:我们要明辨「时代的徵兆」,而且要像地上的盐丶世界的光和人类社会的酵母般行事。我们谋求社会和政制上的改革,以及促进社会福祉时,应依循教会的社会训导。最重要的是,我们必须实践耶稣在真福八端及山中圣训的教导。因此,我们要醒觉,把他人视作「敌人」来憎恨和与之对抗,并不符合基督信仰。教会的社会训导从来不赞同任何以憎恨和暴力作为争取正义的手段。被钉十字架的基督为所有基督徒树立了一个榜样:如果要实现正义与和平,无论有甚麽冲突,都应以爱丶宽恕及互谅去化解。「为求达到目的,不可以不择手段」。

作为牧者,司铎应以教会的社会训导去启迪教友,培养他们的良知,使他们在参与关社活动时,能够采取平衡的方式及正确的行动;然而,过程中牧者不应在这些事上加诸任何影响。每一个教友均可按照良心的指示,并根据福音和教会的社会训导,自由地对社会或政治问题采取自己的立场。当然,与普通大衆一样,教友中也会有不同的看法,因为社会及政治问题往往十分复杂,不可能有简单或现成的答案。纵使如此,绝不能因观点的不同而分化教会。我们必须牢记梵二的教导,所有的教友均须努力维护教会的共融,即使在行使自己的权利时,也要顾全教会的公益。

现今有一些教友声称有「权利」去公开挑战牧者和教会。实际上,他们对教友的「权利」有所误解。的确,梵二告诫牧者,要以开明的心胸去聆听教友的意见,并应鼓励教友在教会和社会中扮演积极的角色。但在另一方面,梵二大公会议亦同样强调教友要服从和尊重牧者,因为他们在圣职上,是代表基督 (《教会宪章》37)。那些傲慢地挑战或批评教会,甚至诽谤教会领袖的教友,只会树立恶表及引致教会分裂。唯有与圣统制保持共融,教友才会真实地彰显梵二所提倡的教友的「信仰意识」(《教会宪章》12)。

至於那些像许多香港人一样,对香港的未来抱着悲观态度的教友,他们把自己的看法,建基於法治和政制改革的不明朗因素,以及「新型冠状病毒」疫情对本港经济及民生所造成的几乎令人无法承受的影响上。我恳请这些教友,要对耶稣基督怀着坚定不移的希望:祂是人类历史的主宰(参阅《论教会在现代世界牧职宪章 》10) ,也是我们人生旅途的亲密同行者。

最後,有些教友因受到最近的社会事件和当前流行疫情的影响而承受压力或心情郁闷。这些状况往往是薄弱和动摇的信仰所致。我们应帮助那些教友,让他们醒觉,除了透过辅导服务和其他治疗方法,他们的痊愈也有赖重燃他们对天主的信德。

各位亲爱的兄弟姊妹,作为总结,我想给你们说几句鼓励的话:目前似乎是充满压力和艰难的时刻,但最终它会为我们化为祝福,因为它使我们更深切地体认,天主是我们人类命运的主宰,人类大家庭成员之间需要更守望相助,而教会生活虽然有「多元化」的空间,但维护教会的共融却有其重要性。

去年的社会事件和当前的流行疫情对香港造成了重大的冲击,因此,我们可以预见,将来的福传工作将面临新的挑战。就让我们为迎接未来的使命做好准备,全心全意地信靠天父的眷顾。

彼此代祷,顺颂

主祺!

+ 汤汉枢机

天主教香港教区宗座署理

二零二零年九月二十一日

圣玛窦宗徒庆日

********


《牧函》主题注释:何谓「共融」(Communion)?

按照新约圣经,尤其保禄书信,教会—新约时代的天主子民—有三个特点,就是作证(Martyrion = Witnessing)丶服务(Diakonia = Ministry)及共融(Koinōnia = Communion 或Fellowship)。「共融」一词,是梵二大公会议(1962-65)的教会学一个很重要的概念。按照梵二文献【《教会宪章》(LG)丶《天主的启示教义宪章》(DV)丶《论教会在现代世界牧职宪章》(GS)丶《主教在教会内牧灵职务法令》(CD)丶《司铎职务与生活法令》(PO)丶《教会传教工作法令》(AG)丶《教友传教法令》(AA)丶《大公主义法令》(UR)及《东方公教会法令》(OE))】,「共融」有以下三重意义―

(一)  属灵共融 (Spiritual CommunionEcclesial Communion)  [参阅 LG4, 7b, 9b, 13a, 13c; DV10a; GS32d, 38b; PO15a; AG4, 37d, 39a; AA18a; UR2b, 7c, 14a, 15a; OE2]

这层面的共融,与圣神有直接和显着的关系。藉着圣神,并在圣神内,个别信友与救主基督和天主圣三保持着密切的联系,分享着天主的生命,并与全体天主子民保持密切联系,彼此命脉相通,犹如同一身体的肢体。属灵的共融或联系,体现於宣认同一信仰丶共同参与圣事(尤其圣祭),以及信友之间在生活上的密切联系(彼此以爱德来维系丶分享神益,以圣神所赋予的神恩(charisms)互相补足,共同建树教会,造福社会)。

(二)  与天主教会的共融或教会体制上的共融(Catholic CommunionEcclesiastical Communion[参阅 LG8,13-15; GS92c; AG22b; UR3a, 3e, 4c, 4d, 7c, 13b, 14d, 17b, 18, 19a, 20; OE4a]

这层面的共融,在於散布各地的教区或地区教会(Particular Churches)与罗马教区或罗马教会之间保持着密切联系。这种联系,相对天主教会的信友而言,可视为圆满实现,他们可视为圆满地加入 (fully incorporated)基督的唯一教会。相对那些仍与罗马教会分离的基督教会或宗派而言,该联系以不同程度局部落实,视乎那些团体所持守的教义丶所举行的圣事和教会领导阶层的体制等实际情况。

(三)  圣统制共融(Hierarchical Communion[参阅 LG18b, 22a, 22b, 23a, 29a,「附录二:预先说明书」; CD4a, 5, 15a; PO7a, 15b; AG38a]

这层面的共融,是好比身体与各肢体之间的联系。它涉及个别信友或教会团体与「世界主教团(College of Bishops)」的联系。所谓「世界主教团」,是指由宗徒长圣伯多禄的继承人―即教宗―作为首席,联同作为宗徒继承人的全球主教所组成的团体。按照天主透过圣子基督所实现的救恩计划,「世界主教团」以「集团性」 (collegially) 及「共负责任」(co-responsibly)的形式治理普世教会,并以教宗作为普世教会在信仰和使命上有形可见的合一标记。在「圣统制」上达到共融,是在「教会体制」上达到「圆满共融」(full Communion) 的先决条件。

圣统制共融同时涉及司铎与主教之间的联系丶执事与主教之间的联系,以及执事与司铎之间的联系。

新约圣经上共融的例子

宗徒们联同圣母及一些男女信徒在耶路撒冷聚在一起,同心合意地祈祷,期待圣神降临(宗1:12-14);耶路撒冷初期信友团体的生活见证(宗2:42-47);宗徒和长老在耶路撒冷举行会议,商讨外邦人皈依基督所涉及的问题(宗15:1-33);各地教会以捐献来支援耶路撒冷的教会团体(格前16: 1-3);信友们在圣神内的相通(格後13:14);信友们在信仰生活上的相通(若一1:3, 7)。

********

PDF档案

–《牧函》撮要

— 为香港社会及教会祷文

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  • By: davc
  • By: davc